Home Sport GAA Mountrath reach South Leinster football final with win over Dunlavin

Mountrath reach South Leinster football final with win over Dunlavin

The Mountrath CS Junior football team that lost the South Leinster C final today
Mountrath CS 1-17 St Kevin’s, Dunlavin 2-9

South Leinster Junior ‘C’ Football Semi-final

Mountrath CS secured a spot in the South Leinster Junior ‘C’ final with a win today in Heywood against St Kevin’s, Dunlavin. The side are coached by county footballer Colm Begley and Laois hurlers strength and conditioning coach Mick Boyhan.

The game got off to a bad start for Mountrath as they conceded a penalty within a minute, which Tadhg Barrett slotted past Fionn McWey. Mountrath got their scoring going with two frees from Adam Connolly.

St Kevin’s were a goal up when Mountrath full-forward Sean Greene grabbed hold of a Paul O’Flynn pass, before driving past the full back and burying the ball in the back of the net. Celebrations were short lived after a 45′ landed in the box, and Jack Grace pounced on the breaking ball to give St Kevin’s back their lead.

Three points in a row from Connolly, Greene and Colm McEvoy brought the game level again and Mountrath were beginning to get the better of St Kevin’s. Two further points by Adam Connolly and one more from McEvoy gave their side the narrowest of margins at the break.

The second half got off to a slow start, the first piece of action came from a good save by Fionn McWey, and the first score of the half didn’t come until seven minutes in when St. Kevin’s landed an equaliser.

Brian Bredin’s long range point kick-started a run of five points, with two from Adam Connolly and Sean Greene each and one from half-time sub Allan Connolly.

There was three points in the game when St Kevin’s landed a free with a minute left to play. But Mountrath rallied again with points from Colm McEvoy, Adam Kirwin and Tadhg Cuddy and St Kevin’s ran off time to pull the game back. Mountrath ran out 1-17 to 2-9 winners and move on to the South Leinster final.

SCORERS – Mountrath CS: Adam Connolly 0-7 (0-6f), Sean Greene 1-3 (0-2f), Colm McEvoy 0-2, Brian Bredin, Aaron Sythes, Adam Kirwan, Tadhg Cuddy, Allan Connolly 0-1 each.

MOUNTRATH CS: Fionn McWey (Ballyroan); Joseph O’Toole (Portlaoise), Ben Shore (Castletown), Jerry O’Neill (Trumera); Eoin Egan (Ballyroan), Nathan Little (Courtwood), Niall Bennett (Camross); Brian Bredin (Mountrath), Adam Connolly (Ballyfin); Conor Walsh (Castletown), Paul O’Flynn (Courtwood), Tadhg Cuddy (Castletown); Aaron Sythes (Castletown), Sean Greene (Emo), Colm McEvoy (Mountmellick). Subs used: Allan Connolly (Ballyfin) for A Sythes (half-time), Adam Kirwan (Trumera) for N Bennett (43 mins).

ST KEVIN’S, DUNLAVIN: Colm Daly; Dean Warren, Keith Burke, Brian Keogh; Darragh Dylan, Tom Moran, Tadhg Miley; Brian Crowe, David Lawlor; Jack Grace, Tadhg Barrett, Shane Daly; Jack Reid, Alan Miley, Cormac Burke.

SEE ALSO – Six new faces in Laois football team for league opener

Previous articleBurger King to open in Portlaoise
Next articleBusy weekend ahead for Portlaoise RFC with Togher set to host two big games
A former Knockbeg student, and is currently a student in the University of Limerick trying to scrape a BA in History and Politics. A marquee player in the goals for Annanough, but well capable of doing a job in full-forward and has the knack to turn his hand to any sport (except running). Only starting out in his journalistic career but already the specialist farming and property reporter. Happiest when Liverpool and Laois are winning!