Home Sport Rugby Portlaoise Ladies trounce Athy to continue unbeaten season

Portlaoise Ladies trounce Athy to continue unbeaten season

The Portlaoise Ladies team that defeated Athy 56-0.

Leinster Rugby Senior Ladies League

Portlaoise 56  Athy 0

Portlaoise Ladies Rugby team remain undefeated in their league after a comprehensive victory over Athy. It was a fast paced, 10 aside game which suited the Portlaoise.

The star performer on the day was Winger Rachel Palmer, finished the game with an impressive tally of six tries, but a solid team effort made the game comfortable for the Portlaoise side.

Portlaoise opened the scoring early on when the ball was passed out to the wing and Palmer ran 50 metres to touch down between the posts. She followed up with a second try only moments later.

Portlaoise’s pack worked hard and some good carries resulting in tries from Deirdre McCaul, Rachel Palmer and Rachel Murphy. This put them into a comfortable lead of 27-0 at half-time.

Portlaoise started the 2nd half strongly with another try from the Rachel Palmer. Athy were finding it difficult to cope with the pace of the Portlaoise winger.

Portlaoise forwards continued to impress with good clean rucks resulting in quick ball out to the pacey backline. They moved the ball through the hands creating space on the outside to run in tries.

A try from Emma Brophy and a two more from Palmer left the final score at 56 nil, ensuring Portlaoise remain top of their table over the halfway point of the league.

The ladies also traveled recently to Scotland where they competed in a challenge game against Livingston. For the trip, Portlaoise were presented with new jerseys and gear bags which were sponsored by Budget Box Ireland. They are now planning a return leg with Livingston set to travel to Ireland at some point.

The team train every Tuesday and Friday nights at 7.30pm and are urging any women of any age, if they have played before or not, to come out to training.

Portlaoise team:
Rosie Palmer, Diane Lawlor, Yvonne Palmer, Nicola Larkin, Claire O’Connell, Sarah Culliton, Orla Franks, Laura O’Brien, Rachel Murphy, Shauna Carroll, Emma Brophy, Louise Cody, Rachel Palmer, Deirdre McCaul.

SEE ALSO – Laois senior hurlers seeking new selector after Mullaney steps away