Home Sport GAA Kelly Cup and Palmer Cup draws made for 2018

Kelly Cup and Palmer Cup draws made for 2018

Annanough and Barrowhouse will do battle in this IFC relegation decider

The draws for the Kelly Cup and Palmer Cup were made at last night’s County Board meeting.

Defending Kelly Cup champions St Joseph’s have withdrawn from the competition for this year following the sudden passing of their player Liam Kealy last week.

This leaves 13 teams entered with Gaels teams also permitted to take part once again.

Group A is the only four team group and it consists of Crettyard Gaels, Stradbally, Clonaslee-St Manman’s Gaels and Ballyinan.

Local rivals Emo and Courtwood will go head to head in Group B where they are also joined by Mountmellick Gaels.

Group C sees Arles-Kilcruise, Timahoe and Ballyfin Gaels drawn together while there will be another local derby in Group D.

Killeshin and Graiguecullen were drawn together and will be joined by O’Dempsey’s.

Games are penciled in to begin on February 11 with the top team from each group advancing to the semi final.

Meanwhile, just five teams have entered the Palmer Cup for this season.

Defending champions Camross are back and they will go up against Abbeyleix, Castletown Gaels, Borris-Kilcotton and Shanahoe Gaels.

This will be run off as a round robin with the top team at the end of it declared the winner – games scheduled to commence February 18.


GROUP A – Crettyard Gaels, Ballylinan, Stradbally, Clonaslee-St Manman’s Gaels
GROUP B – Emo, Courtwood, Mountmellick Gaels
GROUP C – Arles-Kilcruise, Ballyfin Gaels, Timahoe
GROUP D – Graiguecullen, Killeshin, O’Dempsey’s


ROUND ROBIN – Camross, Abbeyleix, Castletown Gaels, Borris-Kilcotton, Shanahoe Gaels

SEE ALSO – New format to Laois senior and senior A hurling championships voted in