Home Sport GAA Laois Ladies suffer third Division 2 defeat on the spin

Laois Ladies suffer third Division 2 defeat on the spin

The Laois Ladies senior footballer championship has been delayed following an appeal
Laois 2-5 Waterford 4-10

Ladies National Football League Division 2 Round 3

The Laois Ladies difficult start to the 2018 season continued today as they went down at home to Waterford.

Kevin Doogue’s side reached the semi final of this competition last year but that now looks highly unlikely as they are rooted to the foot of the table with four games to play.

The game, which took place in Ratheniska, was played in bitterly cold conditions with Laois having wind advantage in the first half.

And despite dominating possession for long spells, they failed to turn this into scores.

Clare Conlon was on the scoresheet early on but Waterford were playing well on the break and led 0-3 to 0-2 at the midpoint of the half thanks to Eimear Fennell, Sinead Ryan and Lauren McGregor.

Laois responded well to draw level through Noirin Kirwan before Emma Lawlor struck for a goal to give them a three point lead.

However, Waterford finished the half strongly to lead by 1-6 to 1-3 at half time. Mairead Wall, Roisin Tobin and Ryan all pointed while Liz Devine struck for a goal.

Aileen Wall extended Waterford’s lead on the resumption of play but Emma Lawlor soon bagged her second goal to leave just the minimum between them.

But that was as close as Laois would come. Eimear Fennell notched Waterford’s second goal and while Lawlor did respond with a point, Waterford would soon be out of sight.

Lauren McGregor, Aileen Wall and Maria Delahunty all pointed before Eimear Fennell added two more goals to complete her hat-trick.

Mags McEvoy hit a late free for Laois but that would be a mere consolation as they now face a real battle to remain in the Division.

SCORERS – Laois: Emma Lawlor 2-1, Clare Conlon 0-2, Noirin Kirwan 0-1, Mags McEvoy 0-1 Waterford: Sinead Ryan 0-2, Liz Devine 1-0, Eimear Fennell 3-1, Lauren McGregor 0-2, Mairead Wall 0-1, Roisin Tobin 0-1, Aileen Wall 0-2, Maria Delahunty 0-1

LAOIS: Fiona Kelly (Park-Ratheniska); Mary Cotter (St Conleth’s), Jenny McEvoy (Sarsfields), Victoria Byrne (St Brigids), Laura Nerney (Foxrock-Cabinteely), Mags McEvoy (Sarsfields), Anna Healy (Park-Ratheniska); Jane Moore (St Brigids), Joyce Dunne (Sarsfields); Erone Fitzpatrick (Park-Ratheniska), Laura Marie Maher (Sarsfields), Caoimhe Simms (St Brigids); Clare Conlon (Sarsfields), Noirin Kirwan (Shanahoe), Emma Lawlor (St Pauls) Subs: Ciara Burke (Sarsfields) for Kirwan

WATERFORD: Geraldine Power; Dearbhaile Ni nAodha, Karen McGrath, Rebecca Case; Liz Devine, Emma Murphy, Megan Dunford; Mairead Wall, Aisling Hahessey; Roisin Tobin, Lauren McGregor, Katie Murray; Sinead Ryan, Eimear Fennell, Michelle Ryan.

SEE ALSO – Laois rugby star Miller stretchered off in Ireland match