Home Sport GAA Disappointment for IT Carlow as Fitzgibbon Cup campaign ends

Disappointment for IT Carlow as Fitzgibbon Cup campaign ends

The new fixtures for the hurling championships are here

IT Carlow’s bid to reach a second successive Fitzgibbon Cup final ended in disappointment this evening as they went down to the University of Limerick in Waterford.

IT Carlow fielded three Laois players – Abbeyleix’s Enda Rowland was in goals while Ballinakill duo Sean Downey and Cha Dwyer were the two wing-forwards.

Current Kilkenny hurling selector and former Laois football manager Mick Dempsey was part of the Carlow management team alongside DJ Carey.

UL were 4-16 to 0-19 winners after leading 1-12 to 0-10. Tipperary stars Jason Forde and John McGrath scored 3-9 between them while some of their other big names included Clare’s Tony Kelly and Limerick’s Gearoid Hegarty and Tom Morrissey.

Rosenallis’s John Lennon is part of the UL squad and while he wasn’t used tonight he did feature in some of their earlier games.

Carlow’s Martin Kavanagh led the scoring for the losers with Waterford’s Colin Dunford also among their scorers.

The Limerick side will play DCU in the final, after they got the better of DIT in the other semi-final in Parnell Park.

Dublin forward Donal Burke hit 1-10 for DCU in their 2-20 to 1-12 win as they booked their first ever Fitzgibbon Cup final place.

There is no Laois involvement with DCU with Portlaoise’s Cian Taylor an unused sub with DIT.

This year sees a break in a long-standing Fitzgibbon Cup tradition of the semi-finals and final being played on consecutive days. This year’s final will be played on Saturday week, February 24, in Mallow.

Meanwhile the Sigerson Cup football semi-finals will take place tomorrow with the Billy O’Loughlin-managed DIT taking on NUI Galway. That game was fixed for 7pm in O’Moore Park but has been switched to St Loman’s in Mullingar.

The other semi-final between UCD and the University of Ulster, Jordanstown ,takes place in Inniskeen in Monaghan, also at 7pm. Laois senior players Evan O’Carroll and Eoin Lowry have both started every game so far for UCD.

The final of the Sigerson Cup competition is on this Saturday in the Trinity GAA grounds in Santry.

SEE ALSO – Boost for Arles-Kilcruise as former Dr Crokes player transfers ahead of 2018 season