Home Sport GAA Killeshin lead the way as Laois U-20 football panel announced

Killeshin lead the way as Laois U-20 football panel announced

Evan Lowry celebrates after scoring his side's goal during the Leinster Minor Championship Semi-Final match between Laois and Offaly
Evan Lowry was in top form for Killeshin this afternoon

Killeshin lead the way with four representatives as the Laois U-20 footballers have named a 33-man panel for the coming championship.

Billy O’Loughlin and his managerial team have spent the last number of months finalising their panel.

A total of 16 clubs are represented in total with Portarlington, Portlaoise, Courtwood and St Joseph’s all providing three players each.

Manager O’Loughlin has also confirmed that Killeshin’s Shane Bolger will be captain for the year while St Joseph’s James Kelly will be vice-captain.

This year will see the introduction of the new U-20 competition in football to replace the former U-21.

11 teams have entered and this time Laois have been drawn in a four team along with Kildare, Meath and Wicklow.

The sides have been drawn into three groups with the top two teams from each Group qualify for Quarter Finals.

However, Winners of Group 1 and 2 will get a bye to semi finals.

Laois are in Group 2 and will begin their campaign away to Kildare on May 28.

They will then host Wicklow on June 4 before finishing their group campaign away to Meath on June 16.


Paddy Walsh (Killeshin)
Shane Bolger (Killeshin)
Evan Lowry (Killeshin)
Adam Deering (Killeshin)
Jordan Fitzpatrick (Portarlington)
Ronan Coffey (Portarlington)
Diarmuid Bennett (Portarlington)
John Kavanagh (Portlaoise)
Ross Brennan (Portlaoise)
Ronan McEvoy (Portlaoise)
Sean O’Flynn (Courtwood)
Alan Kinsella (Courtwood)
Matthew Byron (Courtwood)
Dean Brophy (St Joseph’s)
James Kelly (St Joseph’s)
Peter Kealy (St Joseph’s)
Martin Doyle (Graiguecullen)
Ger Kieran (Graiguecullen)
Ciaran Comerford (The Harps)
Daniel Comerford (The Harps)
Padraig Kirwan (Emo)
Finbarr Crowley (Emo)
David Connolly (Ballyfin)
Max Connolly (Ballyfin)
Eoin Dunne (Rosenallis)
Glenn Shaw (Rosenallis)
Diarmuid Whelan (Ballyroan Abbey)
Conor Brennan (Ballyroan Abbey)
James O’Connor (Timahoe)
Richie Hitchcock (Park Ratheniska)
Caomhan Brennan (Arles-Kilcruise)
Robert Tyrell (Camross)
James Phelan (The Heath)

SEE ALSO – Two men charged with assault of Laois footballer released on bail