Home Sport GAA The Harps go top of Division 1 after third straight win

The Harps go top of Division 1 after third straight win

The Harps will represent Laois in Leinster following walkover
The Harps 0-16 Castletown 0-11

Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 1

The Harps hurlers sit on top of Division 1 of the league this evening after they continued their unbeaten start to the season thanks to a five-point win away to Castletown.

The Durrow-Cullohill outfit have enjoyed a dream start to their campaign following promotion from Division 1A last season and wins over Abbeyleix, Portlaoise and now Castletown sees them out on their own on top of the table.

Given the awful weather we’ve endured recently this one was played in surprisingly pleasant conditions, although the pitch was feeling the effects of the recent rain and a busy run of Feile games over the last couple of days.

There was little between the sides in the opening half and they went in level at 0-8 each at the break.

Michael Lanigan and Ciaran Comerford accounted for 11 of The Harps points between them – while John Brophy, Pat Walsh, Padraig Delaney (free), Eoin Clancy and David Doheny were also on target.

Shane Phelan accounted for most of Castletown’s scores from frees with Evan Cuddy, Fionan Cuddy, Ryan Mullaney and Brendan Reddin also chipping in with points.

The Harps got their noses in front in the second half and rattled off the last three points of the game to run out four-point winners in the end.

The Harps are at home to Rathdowney-Errill next Sunday while Castletown, with two losses from their opening two games, travel to play a Clough-Ballacolla side managed by former Castletown player Paul Cuddy.

THE HARPS: Peter Walsh; David Doheny, Daniel Comerford, Shane Phelan; John Prior, Padraig Delaney, Shane Fitzpatrick; Ronan Delahunty, Richie Saunders; Padraic Dunne, Conor Deegan, Pat Walshe; Ciaran Comerford, John Brophy, Michael Lanigan. Subs: Fionn Whelan for Dunne, Eoin Clancy for Pat Walsh

CASTLETOWN: Paddy Mullaney; Martin Reddin, Owen Peters, Paul Croke; John Gaughan, Evan Cuddy, Conor Phelan; Shane Cuddy, Aaron Gaughan; Fionan Cuddy, Gearoid Gaughan, Shane Phelan; Joe Phelan, Ryan Mullaney, Brendan Reddin. Subs: Dylan Conroy for G Gaughan, Joe McCormack for M Reddin

SEE ALSO – Zane hits 1-10 as Camross get the better of Rathdowney-Errill