Home Sport GAA Two Laois players named on Division 1B team of the year

Two Laois players named on Division 1B team of the year

Two Laois hurlers have been named in the Irish Independent Division 1B hurling team of the year.

More than 900 players lined out in the league across six divisions and each were rated by their reporters and correspondents, with only those who featured in at least four matches considered in the final analysis.

They are the only newspaper to undertake the ratings game on such a detailed basis.

Every Monday during the League and championship, they carry a rating for each player and have now worked through all the figures for the season so far to come up with the top individuals, as well as selecting a team from each Division.

All six of the Division 1B teams are represented here. Perhaps unsurprisingly, promoted Limerick make up a third of the team after they won all five of their 1B games before losing out in a league semi-final to Tipperary in a thriller after extra-time.

Laois are represented by high scoring goalkeeper Enda Rowland while their captain also makes the list.

Rathdowney-Errill’s Ross King, who was the highest scorer in the country after the first few rounds, is named at full forward.

Laois are in the Joe McDonagh Cup this year and will begin their campaign on May 5 at home to Westmeath.

SEE ALSO – Five Laois players named on Division 4 team of the year

Previous articleTwo residential Laois farms to go up for public auction in the next month
Next articleReferendum Watch: How Laois-Offaly voted in the 1986 Marriage Referendum
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.