Home Sport Athletics Here is a round up of the Laois Secondary Schools Track &...

Here is a round up of the Laois Secondary Schools Track & Field Championship

Brought to you in association with Downey’s Autostop

St Abban’s Athletic Club was a busy spot last Wednesday, as 45 competitions, both track and field, went up for decision in the Laois Athletics Track and Field Finals.

There was eight distance finals in total. In the Minor Girls 700m, Anna Bishop claimed gold for Coláiste Iosagain, while Ben Doyle from Portlaoise CBS won the Boys race. Ava O’Connor of Scoil Chriost Ri claimed the Junior Girls 1100m title, with Evan Hogg claiming gold for Heywood in the Junior Boys 1100m.

Niamh McDonald of Heywood won the Intermediate Girls 1100m, while Amy Walsh claimed gold in the Senior Girls 1500m race. There was wins for Portlaoise CBS due Jack Stone and Adam Holden in the Intermediate Boys 1100m and the Senior Boys 1500m respectively.

There was eight 100m sprints finals down for decision following over 20 heats. The Minor titles went to Abby Whitelegg of Colaiste Iosagain in the Girls, while the Port school also claimed the Boys title with John Ikopokin. Helen Ikopokin added to Colaiste Iosagain’s tally claiming the Junior Girls title, with Knockbeg’s Colin Kelly winning the Junior Boys.

The Intermediate Girls title went to Ella-Cyndy Johnston, Colaiste Iosagain, as Kevin Ogedegbe from Portlaoise CBS claimed the Boys title. Gillian Keenan was top of the podium as she claimed the Senior Girls title, and Lee Mullen from Portlaoise CBS claimed Senior Boys glory.

Scoile Chriost Ri claimed the Minor, Junior and Senior Girls 100m Relays, with Colaiste Iosagain winning the Intermediate Girls title. Knockbeg won the Minor and Junior Boys 100m titles, with Mountmellick Community School winning the Intermediate and Senior boys relays.

Scoil Chriost Ri’s Chloe Keenan claimed the Minor Girls Long Jump, Munirat Shobowale won the Junior, Zunzanna Tuszynska won the Intermediate crown, while Colaiste Iosagain’s Jana Joha won the Senior Girls Long Jump.

Knockbeg duo Oran O’Callaghan and Oisin Doyle, claimed the Minor and Junior Long Jump titles respectively, and Daniel Ayodeju won the Intermediate Long Jump for Mountmellick Community School, while Shane Bowe of Heywood won the Senior Boys.

There was also a full round of shot putt finals. Scoil Chriost Ri’s Sandra Peter won the Minor, Munirat Shobowale of Scoil Chriost Ri won the Junior Girls, Ella-Cyndy Johnson claimed the Intermediate Girls title while Gillian Keenan claimed the Senior to complete a full sweep for Scoil Chriost Ri in the Shot Putt.

Portlaoise CBS won three of the four Boys titles, as Anthony Idris won Minor, Daniel Ojejimi won Junior, and Eoin Keenan won Senior. Knockbeg’s Ivan Jones claimed the Intermediate title.

Only five of the eight Javelin finals took place as the Minor and Junior Girls, as well as the Junior Boys finals were cancelled due to high winds. Sarah Delaney from Heywood won the Intermediate Girls title, while Elaine Daly claimed the Senior Girls gold.

The Minor Boys title went to the Portlaoise CBS’ Anthony Idris. The Intermediate Boys title went Ben Holden also from Portlaoise CBS, while Eoin Keenan made it a full round for the Portlaoise school by winning the Senior Boys title.

Here are the results in full:

Previous article‘Mammy, I have to do a poopie’ is the fear of every Mammy claims Councillor
Next articleFr Paddy: ‘See the light of Goodness in all people’
A former Knockbeg student, and is currently a student in the University of Limerick trying to scrape a BA in History and Politics. A marquee player in the goals for Annanough, but well capable of doing a job in full-forward and has the knack to turn his hand to any sport (except running). Only starting out in his journalistic career but already the specialist farming and property reporter. Happiest when Liverpool and Laois are winning!