Home Sport Basketball All-Ireland basketball glory for Scoil Chriost Ri and Portlaoise CBS

All-Ireland basketball glory for Scoil Chriost Ri and Portlaoise CBS

Portlaoise CBS and Scoil Chriost Rí claimed All-Ireland basketball glory

The curtain came down on the secondary school’s basketball season at the weekend and two Laois schools claimed All-Ireland titles.

Scoil Chriost Ri and Portlaoise CBS 1st years tavelled down to Limerick at the weekend where they both won the All-Ireland Plate.

The Scoil Chriost Rí girls added the All Ireland Plate title to their Regional Championship to complete a great season.

They defeated Presentation Kilkenny in the quarter final and Salerno of Galway in the semi final.

This set up a clash with Cork champions Regina Mundi where once again they prevailed by 8 points in a toughly contested final.

The previous week the Scoil Chriost Rí second year team came very close to qualifying for the All-Ireland semi final losing by 8 points to Loreto Foxrock.

Scoil Chriost Ri

SCOIL CHRIOST RI: Niamh Friel, Aisling Fleming, Eimear Marum, Aimee Lewis, Abigail O’Brien, Ciara Crowley, Keeva Fingleton, Faydagh Dunne, Meaghan Fitzpatrick, Kodi Kavanagh, Mairead O’Byrne, Isabel Duff, Niamh Conroy, Grainne Keogh, Ellen Dunne

The first years from Portlaoise CBS were also victorious in UL.

They were up against Catleisland of Limerick in the semi final but a 45-36 victory saw them advance to the decider.

Monaghan school Castleblaney were their opponents in the final and once again the CBS proved too strong.

They won 37 to 21 and were crowned champions.

PORTLAOISE CBS: Dylan Cahill, Brochan O’Reilly, Callum Leonard, Barry Fitzpatrick, Aaron Dooley, Colin McEvoy, Eamonn Raji, Eoin Murphy, Jim Gleeson, Matthew Coonan, Muhammad Usman Tariq, Cathal Molloy, Conor Van Der Muelen, Cian Nolan

SEE ALSO – Referendum Watch: How Laois voted in 1983 Right to Life Referendum