Home Sport GAA In Pictures: Laois Ladies U-14s claim Leinster championship glory

In Pictures: Laois Ladies U-14s claim Leinster championship glory

The Laois U-14 team which claimed Leinster glory

Laois 3-17 Kilkenny 4-2

Ladies Leinster U-14 ‘C’ Football Championship Final

A sizzling second half crowned Laois, Leinster U-14 C champions last week under the setting sun in Graiguecullen.

A goal early in the second half set out their intent and they pressed home their advantage with some fine scoring and stout defending from a Kilkenny forward unit that moved as swiftly as their iconic nickname suggests.

It was the Cats who held the slenderest of leads at half time, three goals in the opening half leading to much cheering from the sidelines.

However, Laois never panicked and Laois Captain Koren Dunne from Portlaoise, led the charge from her full back berth.

The midfield partnership of Emma Hickey and Ellen Conroy was critical in building the Laois attack while their forwards, in particular, Finola Keogh, Kerri Smith and Player of the Match Jess Whelan gave an exhibition of forward play.

To their credit, Kilkenny never bowed their heads and were relentless in pursuit of scores but time trickled away leaving the Laois Ladies celebrating before the setting sun.

Leinster Secretary, Cathal Friel reminded the crowd in his presentation of the cup, that the players should be very proud of themselves and that there is always another game, another tomorrow and to keep enjoying their football.

Laois: Jenna Griffin, Laura Dempsey, Koren Dunne (C), Cara Aird, Anna Keane, Eleanor Holland, Cira Crowley, Emma Hickey, Ellen Conroy, Finola Keogh, Sinéad Goode, Kerri Smith, Jess Whelan, Kate O’Reilly, Kayla Darcy. Subs: Emma Ramsbottom, Edel Deegan, Niamh Conroy, Ava Tynan, Ita Conroy, Saoirse Byrne, Molly McNulty, Tara Byrne, Emma Griffin, Daniell Brennan, Lucy Goode, Fial Dalton, Amy McKane, Sarah Hynes, Jade Coogan.

Kilkenny: Katelyn Kelly, Ríona Crowley, Hollie Brennan, Amelie Bolger, Tara McGrath, Caoimhe Carroll, Sofia Kerr, Ellen Lawlor, Sarah Hudson, Katie Byrne (C), Emily Carroll, Emma Shortall, Kate Purcell, Freya de Mange, Rose Kelly. Subs: Kate Beirne, Rachel Whelan, Laoise Nolan, Allanah Cody, Maebh Richardson, Isabelle Delaney, Amy Clifford, Muireann Ryan, Eabha Carroll, Amy Ring, Orla Buckley, Amy Lawless, Ciara Brennan, Ella Buggy, Síófra Meegan.

The Laois U-14 team which claimed Leinster glory

SEE ALSO – Laois match won’t clash with Champions League final while the Dubs are on the way back to Portlaoise

Previous articleLaois man set to attend the Royal Wedding
Next articleIn Pictures: Knockbeg College holds annual 1916 Commemoration blitz
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.