Home Sport GAA Laois survive late Wexford rally to claim second win

Laois survive late Wexford rally to claim second win

The Laois minor football Team Picture: Paul Dargan
The Laois minor football Team Picture: Paul Dargan

Laois 0-11 Wexford 2-3

Leinster Minor Football Championship Round 2

Laois have a second win in the Leinster minor championship after surviving a late Wexford rally.

Donncha Phelan’s side were seven points up with ten minutes to go but were rocked by two late goals before prevailed in the end.

Laois played with the wind in the first half but the game went scoreless for the first ten minutes.

In that time Wexford actually came closest to scoring as Mark Kehoe hit the crossbar with a looping shot.

Eamonn Delaney opened the scoring with a free and although Sean O’Neill followed that with a second, Wexford hit back after 12 minutes via Jamie Sheen.

Laois were on top now and further points from Oisin Byrne, Rioghan Murphy and a second long range Eamonn Delaney free moved them four clear at the midpoint of the half.

Laois almost had a goal two but Damon Larkin’s shot came back off the butt of the post.

Oisin Byrne hit his second free before Ben Conroy scored an absolute screamer after 21 minutes from outside the 45.

The same player then nearly had a goal when Rioghan Murphy’s shot was parried but the ball came back to Conroy too quickly and he blazed wide.

Laois didn’t score again in ththe first half though and had five wides before the break as an Emmett Cullen point for Wexford left it 0-7 to 0-2 at half time.

Laois started the second half well with a Rioghan Murphy point and another from Oisin Byrne after a great run by Damon Larkin.

Wexford were struggling to get scores and another from Byrne moved Laois eight clear  after 40 minutes.

Laois were cruising but Jack O’Leary’s goal and Lee Jordan’s point rocked Laois.

But Eamonn Delaney kicked a much needed free for Laois in front of the stand to settle things down as we entered injury time.

We then had a crazy end to the game. Jack Finnucane smashed home a goal for Wexford to leave two in it but Laois were awarded a penalty.

Josh O’Brien missed it but it didn’t matter as Laois held on.

SCORERS – Laois: Oisin Byrne 0-4, Eamonn Delaney 0-3, Rioghan Murphy 0-2, Sean O’Neill 0-1, Ben Conroy 0-1 Wexford: Jamie Sheen 0-1, Emmett Cullen 0-1, Jack O’Leary 1-0, Lee Jordan 0-1, Jack Finnucane 1-0

LAOIS: Tom Wright (Ballylinan); Sean Greene (Emo), Mikey Bennett (Portarlington), Seth Burns Mooney (Courtwood); Niall Carey (Portlaoise), Cathal Bennett (Portarlinton), Eamonn Delaney (Stradbally); Ben Conroy (Portlaoise), Josh Lacey (St Joseph’s); Enda McWey (Ballyroan-Abbey), Sean O’Neill (The Rock) (Captain), Darragh Galvin (Portarlington); Rioghan Murphy (Portarlington), Damon Larkin (Portlaoise), Oisin Byrne (Arles-Killeen). Subs: Seamus Farrelly (St Joseph’s) for Galvin (38mins), Josh O’Brien (St Joseph’s) for Byrne (45mins), Cathal Doyle (Ballyroan-Abbey) for Lacey (45mins), Conor Goode (Stradbally) for McWey (54mins), Sean Michael Corcoran (Portarlington) for Murphy (58mins), Brian Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska) for Conroy (62mins, inj)

WEXFORD: Anthony Larkin; James O’Leary, Robert Murphy, Ollie Gahan; Harry Kehoe, Jamie Sheen, Ciarán Kavanagh; Emmet Cullen, Mark Kehoe; Adam Mullins, Ciaran Regan, Lee Jordan; Jack Doran, Emmett Nolan, Lee Nolan. Subs: Jack O’Leary, Jack Finucane, Conor Kehoe

Referee: John Hickey (Carlow)

Previous articleIn Pictures: Abbeyleix students showcase their art in the Dunamaise Arts Centre
Next articlePortlaoise AFC back to winning ways to keep promotion hopes alive – plus all this evening’s local GAA results
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.