Home Sport GAA Wins for O’Dempsey’s, St Joseph’s and Portlaoise in latest Division 1 action

Wins for O’Dempsey’s, St Joseph’s and Portlaoise in latest Division 1 action

Matthew Finlay and Cormac O'Hora were in fine form for O'Dempsey's
Matthew Finlay, Shane Nerney and Cormac O'Hora

There were three games down for decision in the ACFL Division 1 this evening.

The fourth match scheduled for tonight, between Graiguecullen and Portarlington, was called off due to a bereavement.

Here is a run down of how the matches went.

O’Dempsey’s 2-12 The Heath 0-11

Two goals immediately at the start of the second half moved O’Dempsey’s up to second place in Division 1 tonight.

The Killenard outfit led this one from the start but goals from Matthew Finlay and Dan McCormack gave them the cushion that they needed to go on and win.

Matthew Finlay was O’Dempsey’s main man as he finished the game with a stunning tally of 1-8.

Daithi Carroll was The Heath’s top scorer on the evening with six points, three of which came in the first half.

They were unlucky not to have a goal too when Chris Bergin’s shot cannoned back off the bar before he was forced off with injury.

But Matthew Finlay led the way for O’Dempsey’s as they went in 0-8 to 0-4 ahead at half time.

Finlay and Dan McCormack got goals within two minutes of the resumption of play and when the free scoring Finlay kicked another one, O’Dempsey’s were 11 points clear.

The Heath kept going though and Evin Keane came off the bench for his first appearance after a long injury lay off and landed two fine points as well as seeing a shot for goal flash into the side-netting.

But O’Dempsey’s saw it out and won by seven in the end.

SCORERS – O’Dempsey’s: Matthew Finlay 1-8, Dan McCormack 1-0, Barry Kelly and Conor Meredith 0-2 each The Heath: Daithi Carroll 0-5, Evin Keane and Robbie Dowling 0-2 each, Andrew Booth and Chris Bergin 0-1 each

O’Dempsey’s: Podge Bannon; Richie Whelehan, Peter O’Leary, Eoin Cunningham; Cormac O’Hora, Robbie Kehoe, Liam Whelehan; Barry Kelly, Conor Meredith; Matthew Finlay, Tommy Kehoe, Pat Maher; Eugene Nolan, Dan McCormack, Micheal Finlay. Subs: Aidan McClernan for R Kehoe, Daithi Howlin for Nolan, Damien Carter for Maher

The Heath: JP Nerney; James Conroy, Gary Hogan, Neil Keane; Gary Roe Smith, Alan Whelan, Mark Dowling; Daithi Carroll, Colin Nestor; Mark Dowling, Robbie Dowling, Brian Ging; Andrew Booth, Chris Bergin, Eoin Delaney. Subs: Robbie Ging for Bergin, Aidan Bergin for Dunne, Evin Keane for Delaney, Joe McEvoy for Smith, Benny Conroy for M Dowling

St Joseph’s 1-14 Stradbally 0-7

Table toppers St Joseph’s won for the fourth straight game to extend their lead at the top of the table to five points with five games to play.

The Kellyville men were comfortable winners over Stradbally tonight as they prevailed by ten points in the end.

The first half was a very tight affair with both sides guilty of dropping balls short and shooting wide.

Jody Dillon got the game’s first point and that was cancelled out by Jack Lacey.

John Clancy regained the lead for Stradbally but St Joseph’s ended the half in front thanks to points from Michael Keogh and James Smith – 0-3 to 0-2.

St Joseph’s made the perfect start to the second half when Bernard Wheatley capitalised on a defensive mistake to score the game’s only goal.

Jack Deegan and Colm Kelly responded for Stradbally but St Joseph’s pushed on.

Tom Kelly, David Brennan and Michael Keogh were all on the scoresheet before the end as they won comfortably in the end.

Scorers – St Joseph’s: Bernard Wheatley 1-1, Michael Keogh 0-4, Brian Daly 0-2, David Brennan 0-2, James Smith 0-1, Jack Lacey 0-1, Tom Kelly 0-1, Dan Dunne 0-1, Conor Kealy 0-1 Stradbally: Colm Kelly 0-2, Jody Dillon 0-1, John Clancy 0-1, Jack Deegan 0-1, Justin Lalor 0-1, Greg Ramsbottom 0-1

St Joseph’s: Dan Dunne; Willie McDonald, Tom Dunne, Donal Ramsbottom; Mikie Dempsey, Cathal Fleming, Jack Lacey; Adam Campion, Enda Butler; Tom Kelly, Michael Keogh, Bernard Wheatley; Brian Daly, James Smith, Conor Kealy. Subs: David Brennan, Murtagh Condron, James Michael Fleming, Ian Donnelly

Stradbally: Derek Beale; Liam Clancy, Liam Knowles, Jamie Kavanagh; Joe Lacey, Justin Lalor, Colin Beale; Jack Deegan, Conor Delaney; Charlie O’Brien, Jody Dillon, John Clancy; Damien Murphy, Colm Kelly, Greg Ramsbottom. Subs: Podge Langton, Cormac Deegan, Jamie Devoy


Portlaoise ended their losing spree with an emphatic win over Ballylinan in a repeat of last year’s county final.

Ballylinan have not won once in Division 1 this year and that is still the case after tonight as Portlaoise won by 6-10 to 0-4.

SEE ALSO – Goals key as Arles-Kilcruise go top of Division 1B