Home Sport Other Sport In Pictures: Big success for Cullohill Handball Club at Feile Na nGael

In Pictures: Big success for Cullohill Handball Club at Feile Na nGael

Cullohill Handball continue to achieve great success on the provincial and National Stage, after a successful Leinster Championships campaign the juvenile teams went to Feile full of confidence.

The boys team of Rory Dunne, Lorcan McGuigan, Conor Walsh and Cody Comerford were in outstanding form as the ran out Division 4 champions after a tense and exiting day in Abbeynockmoy C Galway.

The Group stages saw the Cullohill boys finish top of their group to set up a final against Claregalway.

First in were Rory Dunne and Lorcan McGuigan and as they had done all day put in a great show as they played out a ding dong battle against very strong Claregalway opposition and set up a tense final game which went right to the wire.

Conor Walsh and Cody Comerford raced into a commanding lead in the final game and looked home and dry when their Claregalway opponents found their grove and levelled the match with just a minute left on the clock, the Cullohill Boys found the extra gear with three unanswered points to run out three-point winners 28-25 and lift the Trophy

Rory Dunne also claimed the Bronze Medal in the Feile Skills competition.

The Girls Team were in Division 1 and competing against the cream of U-14 Handball.

The team of Emma Delaney, Lucy O’Connor, Una Brophy, Orlaith Whyte and Brid Drennan where well able to compete at every level and after a very competitive Group stage the girls were placed third and qualified for the Plate Final.

The final against St Josephs of Wexford was another superb Handball Match with both teams fighting hard for the Plate.

Emma Delaney and Lucy O’Connor were up first and after a close battle with two fine Wexford Hanballers left nothing in it going into the decider.

Una Brophy and Orlaith Whyte were very commanding and finished off the match in style with a convincing win to take the Plate with an overall score of 32-24

Other teams competing were:
Cullohill Boys Team 2 Mikey Fogarty, Brian Holland, Martin Drennan, Jack Dunphy and Liam Kirby
Cullohill Girls Team 2 – Caoimhe Doheny, Lisa Kirby, Eadaoin Whyte, Emma Delahunty and Eva Dunphy

SEE ALSO – Kitman Ollie Byrne – a man for all seasons and ‘part of the furniture’