Home Sport GAA St Joseph’s save intermediate status as Barrowhouse make the drop

St Joseph’s save intermediate status as Barrowhouse make the drop

The Laois Ladies senior footballer championship has been delayed following an appeal

Brought to you in association with JK Autos

St Joseph’s 1-13 Barrowhouse 0-7
Laois Shopping Centre IFC Relegation Final

Barrowhouse will make the drop back to the junior football grade for 2019 following a nine-point loss to their neighbours St Joseph’s in the relegation decider in Crettyard this evening.

Junior champions in 2015, Barrowhouse have diced with danger in their three seasons at intermediate – surviving in the grade thanks to relegation final wins over Kilcavan in 2016 and Annanough in 2017.

This time there was no way out as they followed up earlier defeats to The Rock and Mountmellick by falling to their third loss of the campaign – St Joseph’s claiming their first intermediate win following their junior triumph last year.

St Joseph’s were 0-7 to 0-1 up at the break, thanks to three points from Niall Brennan and one each from Noel Garvan, Bernard Wheatley, James Smith and Ciaran Ramsbottom.

Barrowhouse’s only score in the opening half came from a fine effort from Fergal Murphy.

John Larkin’s men got the first two scores of the second half – points from Emmett Malone and a Fergal Murphy free – but St Joseph’s then hit four in a row to wrestle back control of the game.

Condron got the first and that was followed by efforts from Wheatley, Jack Lacey and James Smith. James Baldwin and Luke Malone responded with points for Barrowhouse but St Joseph’s made sure of the win when Conor Kealy struck for the game’s only goal after a pass from Jack Lacey.

Brian Malone hit a couple of frees in response for Barrowhouse but St Joseph’s had the final say with Wheatley and James Fleming wrapping up the win with late points.

SCORERS – St Joseph’s: Niall Brennan 0-3 (two frees), Bernard Wheatley 0-3, Conor Kealy 1-0, James Smith 0-2, Noel Garvan 0-1, Murtagh Condron 0-1, Jack Lacey 0-1, James Fleming 0-1, Ciaran Ramsbottom 0-1. Barrowhouse:Fergal Murphy 0-2 (one free), Brian Malone 0-2 (both frees), Emmett Malone 0-1 (free), James Baldwin 0-1, Luke Malone 0-1

ST JOSEPH’S: Daniel Nelligan; James Fitzgerald, Patrick Fleming, Dylan O’Brien; Jack Lacey, William McDonald, James Fleming; Murtagh Condron, Noel Garvan; Ciaran Ramsbottom, James Smith, Conor Kealy; Bernard Wheatley, Niall Brennan, David Brennan. Subs: Noel Leech for Fitzgerald (60), Ciaran Maher for Ramsbottom (60)

BARROWHOUSE: Daire Phelan; Thomas McDonald, Thomas Paige, Sean Langton; Andrew Baldwin, Joe Murphy, Denis Brophy; Martin Murphy, Emmett Malone; Luke Malone, James Baldwin, Fergal Murphy; Brian Malone, Michael Langton, Scott Flynn. Sub: James Brennan for Flynn (HT)

SEE ALSO – Tierney is Ballyroan-Abbey’s hero as late free seals epic win