Home Sport GAA REVEALED: Laois Divisional squads announced ahead of upcoming competition

REVEALED: Laois Divisional squads announced ahead of upcoming competition

John Sugrue - Photo Paul Dargan

Laois senior football boss John Sugrue has announced the squads that will take part in the Divisional Competition.

A total of 113 players have been split into four different districts in the county.

East Central, North/North West, South East and North East will play each other over the next three weekends with the first games taking place on Saturday October 13.

That will be a double header in the Centre of Excellence and after that the games will be played around the county.

The first game this Saturday sees West Northwest take on East Central at 6pm, followed by North East v South East at 7.30pm.

Sugrue came up with the competition as a means to see potential panelists for 2019 playing in a more talent-concentrated environment than the club championships.

As yet, no players from O’Dempsey’s and Portlaoise are involved, as they prepare for the county final on Sunday, while no Courtwood players are involved either, as they look ahead to a Leinster IFC campaign.

It will culminate with a finals weekend where the top two teams contest the cup and third and fourth play for the Shield.

Manager Sugrue revealed that entry to the games will be €2 and all money received will go to charity.

Sugrue said: “There are some guys ruled out with longer term injuries that are not listed.

“Also the chosen charity is the Kolbe Centre with a €2 cover charge or optional donation to the charity on the gate.

“We are very much looking forward to the commencement of the competition.”

Check out the panels and management teams below:

East Central

Management: Dan Nelligan (St Joseph’s), Greg Ramsbottom (Stradbally), Brendan Quigley (Timahoe)

Panel: Colm Begley, Wayne Comerford (inj), Liam Knowles, Eoin Buggie, Jack Deegan, Jody Dillion, Tom Shiel (All Stradbally), Gary Walsh, Conor Behan, Andy McEvoy, Kevin Byrne, Jamie Farrell, Robbie Donoher (inj), Alan Farrell (inj), Seamus Lacey (All Ballylinan) Aaron Cooney, Dan Dunne (inj), Adam Campion, Donal Ramsbottom, James Kelly, Michael Keogh, Brian Daly (All St Joseph’s), Aaron Carroll, Shaun Murphy, John Rogers, Diarmuid Whelan, Martin Scully, Conor Brennan (All Ballyroan-Abbey), Richie Hitchcock, Padraig Dunne (All Park Ratheniska), Rory O’Connor, Damien O’Connor (All Timahoe)


North/North West

Management: Shane Conlon (Mountmellick), Derek Conroy (The Rock), Darren Rooney (Clonaslee)

Panel: Davy Connolly, James Moore, Ben Conroy, Sean Moore (All Ballyfin), Will Young (Clonaslee), Cathal Fennel, Fiachra Fennell, Ruaidhri Fennell, Eoin Dunne (Rosenallis), Colm Coss, Niall Mullen, Darren Fitzpatrick, Jason Caffrey, Gearoid Hanrahan, James Mulaney, Ryan Mulaney, Eoin Keogh, Eoin George, Brendan Reddin (All Mountmellick), Aaron Dowling, Conor Flynn, Anavil Storey (All The Rock), Ciaran Commerford, Daniel Commerford (The Harps), Rob Tyrrell (Camross), John O’Loughlin (St Brigid’s)

South East 

Management Team: Martin Gorman (Spink), John Kealy (Ballylinan), Beano McDonald (Arles-Killeen)

Panel: Kevin Meaney, Francis Egan, David Conway, Ross Munnelly, Mikey Wall, Caomhan Brennan (All Arles-Kilcruise), Evan O’Carroll, Sean O’Shea, Michael Nash, Cormac Murphy (All Crettyard), David McDermott, Shane Bolger, Eoin Lowry, Evan Lowry, Stephen Attride, Kevin Ryan (All Killeshin), Paul Kingston, Sean O’Shea, Donie Kingston (Arles-Killeen), Mark Timmons, Danny Bolger, Martin Doyle, Luke Aylsbury, Trevor Collins, Paul Mulready, Brian Byrne, Aaron Forbes, Danny O’Reilly (All Graiguecullen), Emmet Malone (Barrowhouse) 

North East

Management: Paul Lawlor (Emo), John Scully (Annanough) and Francis Finn (O’Dempsey’s)

Panel: Robbie Dowling, Alan Whelan, Brian Ging, Evin Keane, James Phelan (All The Heath) Nigel Murphy, Shane Murphy, Niall Gorman, Darren Strong, Liam Crowley, Padraig Kirwan, Finbarr Crowley, Evan Costello, Jack Owens (All Emo) Scott Osbourne, Robbie Pigott, Colm Murphy, Diarmuid Bennett, Graham Weldon, Patrick O’Sullivan, Jordan Fitzpatrick, Ronan Coffey (injured), Sean Byrne (All Portarlington) Killian Horgan, Elliott Scully ( Both Annanough)

SEE ALSO – WATCH: Killenard NS raise the roof with County Final song for O’Dempsey’s

Previous articleAll you need to know about Budget 2019
Next articleYoung Laois young musicians perform for government leaders
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.