Home Sport Rugby Miller returns and Hooban in line for 6 Nations debut as Irish...

Miller returns and Hooban in line for 6 Nations debut as Irish women’s squad is named

Alison Miller’s recovery from injury means that she has now been named in the Ireland women’s rugby squad for the 2019 6 Nations while young Portlaoise player Emma Hooban has also been included having made her international debut during the November series.

Miller broke her ankle in last season’s 6 Nations clash against Italy and was out for 10 months prior to her return at club level with Old Belvedere last weekend.

Miller has been playing with Ireland since 2010 and has been capped 43 times.

Hooban, meanwhile, will be looking to add to her list of international appearances having been capped against USA in November. The 21-year-old player who plays hooker initially made her Leinster debut during the summer and has since successfully stepped up to international level.

Hooban started playing with Portlaoise before moving to St Mary’s in Dublin.

The two players are among the 36-player squad announced by head coach Adam Griggs.

After their championship opener against England in Donnybrook on Friday, February 1, Griggs’ Ireland travel to Scotstoun to face Scotland on Friday, February 8, in round two, and then Parma on Saturday, February 23, for a clash against Italy.

Ireland are back at Donnybrook for round four as they welcome France to Donnybrook on Saturday, March 9, before the campaign concludes against Wales at the Cardiff Arms Park on Sunday, March 17.

Ireland women’s squad:

Enya Breen (UL Bohemian/Munster), Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke/Ulster), Michelle Claffey (Blackrock/Leinster), Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster), Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian/Munster), Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster), Jeamie Deacon (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster), Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo/IQ Rugby), Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Ailbhe Dowling (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Laura Feely (Galwegians/Connacht), Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/Connacht), Nichola Fryday (Galwegians/Connacht), Louise Galvin (UL Bohemians/Munster), Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster), Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster), Emma Hooban (St Mary’s College/Leinster), Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster), Claire Keohane (Railway Union/Munster), Leah Lyons (Harlequins), Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster), Claire McLaughlin (Old Belvedere/Ulster), Edel McMahon (Galwegians/Connacht), Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/Connacht), Sarah Mimnagh (Richmond/IQ Rugby), Claire Molloy (Wasps), Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock/Leinster), Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe RFC/Connacht), Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster), Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster), Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemians/Munster), Juliet Short (Railway Union/Leinster), Hannah Tyrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Megan Williams (Old Belvedere/Leinster).

SEE ALSO – Leinster league glory for former Portlaoise player

Previous articleOne of Ireland’s Fittest Families to lead Timahoe’s New Year’s Day walk
Next articleOver €4million in funding allocated for 22 new social houses in Durrow
Steven Miller is owner and managing editor of LaoisToday.ie. From Laois, Steven studied Journalism in DCU and has 14 years experience in the media, almost 10 of those in an editorial role. Husband of Emily, father of William and Lillian, he's happiest when he's telling stories or kicking a point.