Home We Are Laois Remember the Game Remember the Game: Ballyfin College and Heywood CS in South Leinster final...

Remember the Game: Ballyfin College and Heywood CS in South Leinster final in January 2000

Ballyfin College 0-16 Heywood CS 0-6
2000 South Leinster Colleges JFC ‘B’ Final

Our Remember the Game series is the South Leinster Colleges JFC ‘B’ final – an all-Laois affair in O’Moore Park on January 24, 2000.

Ballyfin College were 0-16 to 0-6 winners over Heywood CS with players from both teams later going on to play with Laois at underage and senior – in hurling and football.

On this occasion, Mountmellick’s Shane Conlon played a captain’s part, scoring six points while Emo’s Paul Lawlor chipped in with five.

The Heywood side included future Laois senior Padraig McMahon at centre-back, who scored two of his side’s six points.

BALLYFIN COLLEGE: Shane Broderick; Tadhg Doran, Dermot Walsh, Eoin O’Callaghan; David Heneghan, Patrick Dunne, Rory Delaney; Tadhg Browne, Eddie Brennan; Mick Fingleton, Tomas Nolan, Shane Conlon; Paul Lawlor, Damian Murphy, Simon Norton. Sub used: Oisin Hennessy

HEYWOOD CS: Gary Conroy; Brian Walsh, William Dwyer, John Lowry; Aaron Moore, Padraig McMahon, Damien Carter; Tony Woods, Danny Donoghue; Barry Dunne, David Brennan, James Walsh; James Keegan, Ger Hennessy, Paul Fleming. Subs used: Brendan Walsh and Ciaran Keegan.

REFEREE: Frank Ward

SEE ALSO – Remember the Game: How Portlaoise RFC toppled Garda in 2004