Home Sport GAA Prolific Portlaoise CBS defeat Kilcock to reach South-Leinster football final

Prolific Portlaoise CBS defeat Kilcock to reach South-Leinster football final

Portlaoise CBS

Scoil Dara Kilcock 2-5 Portlaoise CBS 3-11
Top Oil South Leinster PP Schools Senior Football “B” Semi Final

Portlaoise CBS have qualified for the Senior South Leinster ‘B’ football final following a nine point win over Kilcock in Enfield this afternoon.

Killian Fitzpatrick’s side led from start to finish against the Kildare school and after winning the league late last year, they now have the chance to claim more silverware.

Portlaoise made a brilliant start to the game with a goal in the first couple of minutes.

Damien McCaul’s floated ball held up in the wind and that allowed Damon Larkin to get a hand to it and palm it to the net from close range.

Annanough sharp-shooter McCaul landed three points in the opening half with Larkin kicking one too.

Kilcock struggled against the breeze in the opening half and the CBS were unlucky not to have a second goal when Ben Conroy forced a good save from the home goalkeeper.

The CBS led by by 1-4 to 0-2 at the break and with the wind at their backs, they set about putting the game to bed in the second half.

Damon Larkin grabbed a second goal and the CBS’ third goal came after a high ball was deflected into the net by a Kilcock defender.

Kilcock did respond with two goals themselves but with McCaul, Ben Conroy and Conor Goode all knocking over points, the CBS ran out nine point winners in the end.

They will now face the winners of Bunclody and Tullamore in the South Leinster final in the coming weeks.

SCORERS – Damon Larkin 2-2, Damien McCaul 0-7 (four frees), Ben Conroy and Conor Goode 0-1 each

PORTLAOISE CBS: Michael O’Connell (Portlaoise); Eddie Critchley (Portlaoise), Sean O’Neill (The Rock), Josh Mulhall (Park-Ratheniska), Niall Carey (Portlaoise), Gary Saunders (Portlaoise), Brian Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska); Eamonn Delaney (Stradbally), Neil Keane (The Heath); Ben Conroy (Portlaoise), Damon Larkin (Portlaoise), Ben Brennan (Portlaoise); Cian Houlihan (Portlaoise), Damien McCaul (Annanough), Conor Goode (Stradbally). Subs: Conor Booth (The Heath) for Conroy, Gareth O’Brien (The Heath) for Carey, Ciaran O’Neill (Stradbally) for Delaney

SEE ALSO – In Pictures: Serious style at O’Dempsey’s Dinner Dance