Home Sport Rugby Miller and Hooban ready for Ireland Women’s next Six Nations battle this...

Miller and Hooban ready for Ireland Women’s next Six Nations battle this weekend

Credit: Sportsfile

Both Alison Miller and Emma Hooban are ready to do battle as part of the starting 15 in the Irish Women’s Rugby Six nation game against Italy this weekend.

The two former Portlaoise rugby players have been named in the third round game against Italy on Saturday at 6.45pm.

Head coach Adam Griggs has only named one change to the side that faced Scotland – with Ulster’s Kathryn Dane coming in for Ailsa Hughes at scrum-half.

Ireland redeemed their heavy round one loss to England with a 22-5 victory over Scotland a fortnight ago – with Miller scoring an important third try during the game.

Ahead of the trip to Italy, head coach Griggs said: “It was great to come away with five points after the Scotland test.

“It was a physical game in tough conditions, but the players were focused on putting in a good team performance together and showing the quality rugby they can produce.

“We were pleased with the opportunities that we created and while the challenge for this group is to become even more clinical under pressure, we definitely feel each week we are improving and taking the right steps to get there.

“The Italian game should be a cracker, they have played well of late and are unbeaten so far in this championship which isn’t easy to do.”

There is live coverage of Ireland v Italy in the Women’s Six Nations from 6.30pm on RTÉ 2.


Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo/ IQ Rugby)
Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/ Munster)
Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
Michelle Claffey (Blackrock/ Leinster)
Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/ Connacht)
Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/ Connacht)
Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/ Ulster)
Laura Feely (Galwegians/ Connacht)
Emma Hooban (St Mary’s College/ Leinster)
Leah Lyons (Harlequins)
Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/ Leinster)
Nichola Fryday (Galwegians/ Connacht)
Anna Caplice (Richmond)
Claire Molloy (Wasps
Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/ Munster, capt)

Deirbhile Nic A Bhaird (UL Bohemian/ Munster)
Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster)
Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/ Munster)
Claire Boles (Railway Union)
Claire McLaughlin (Old Belvedere/ Ulster)
Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/ Leinster)
Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere/ Leinster
Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemians/ Munster)

SEE ALSO – Laois GAA club comes up with incredible study workshop to give back to the community

Previous articleLaois venue nominated for prestigious Hot Press live music Venue of the Year award
Next article27 new houses set to come to Laois village
Siún Lennon joined LaoisToday in a full-time capacity after studying Journalism and New Media in the University of Limerick. She hails from Rosenallis and her interests vary from news, sports and politics.