Home Sport GAA Waterford goals keep Laois ladies footballers from first league win

Waterford goals keep Laois ladies footballers from first league win

Laois 4-8 Waterford 4-13
Lidl Ladies Football League Division 2

It hasn’t been an easy league for Laois ladies, as they have yet to pick up any points on the board after five games.

A brace of two Waterford goals in the first five minutes meant Laois ladies had a battle to climb from the off.

Waterford’s first goal came from the throw-in, before Mo Nerney converted a free to put Laois on the board.

Waterford’s Kelly-Ann Hogan then struck another three points as they hit the back of the Laois net to go 2-1 to 0-1 up after eight minutes.

Aileen Wall struck another point over the black spot for the Deise while Nerney was on scoring form for David Gibson’s side – getting Laois up to 0-4 to Waterford’s 2-3 at the 20 minute mark.

Chloe Fennell and Liz Devine converted two before Nerney contributed to her side yet again with a goal and a point. The half-time score read Laois 1-5 Waterford 2-6.

Waterford were first out of the blocks with a point after the interval but there was no stopping Timahoe ladies woman Nerney as she found the net again to make 2-5 to 2-7 after 35 minutes.

An Emer Fennelly free and goal from a penalty by Maria Delahunty increased Waterford’s lead to seven points with 10 minutes remaining.

Delahunty struck two more frees over the crossbar with Katie Hannon folllowing suit from play to increase the lead by three.

However Laois struck a purple patch hitting two goals within the final five minutes.

Unfortunately this wasn’t enough to claw back the deficit and Waterford finished victors by five points in Dungarvan today.

Laois remain on bottom of the table with no points earned so far. Their next game is away to Cavan next weekend.

LAOIS: Fiona Kelly (Park-Ratheniska); Clodagh Dunne (Ballyroan) Maureen Young (Timahoe), Mary Cotter (St Conleth’s); Ellen Healy (Portlaoise), Jane Moore (St Brigid’s), Laura Peake (Sarsfields); Anna Healy (Park-Ratheniska), Laura Nerney (Foxrock-Cabinteely); Emma Lawlor (St Paul’s); Joyce Dunne (Sarsfields), Alannah Havill (St. Conleth’s); Meaghan Dunne (Sarsfields), Shannon Costello (St Paul’s), Mo Nerney (Timahoe) Subs: Aoife Conlon Hyland (Portlaoise), Aisling Kehoe (Portlaoise), Aine Haberlin (St Conleth’s), Alice Dunne (Timahoe), Erone Fitzpatrick (Park-Ratheniska), Niamh O’Rourke (Ballyfin), Emma Finlay (Shanahoe), Laura Finlay (Shanahoe), Sinead Cullen (St Conleth’s), Sinead O’Rourke (St Paul’s), Eva Galvin (St Conleth’s)

SEE ALSO – Laois intermediate camogie retain division 2 status with win over Antrim