Home Sport GAA Comerford’s University of Limerick crowned fresher All-Ireland hurling champions

Comerford’s University of Limerick crowned fresher All-Ireland hurling champions

Laois senior hurler Ciaran Comerford now has his hands on an All-Ireland medal after his first year University of Limerick side claimed the final win over Limerick Institute of Technology.

The Harps man played a pivotal role in midfield as UL defeated their fellow Limerick counterparts 3-17 to 1-10.

After weeks of drama due the two sides disagreeing on venues for the game, it was eventually played in the Gaelic Grounds today.

The end result was does not reveal the full story of how close the game really was. UL were only a mere point ahead at half-time on 1-7 to 1-6 – in a half which the sides were level on five occasions.

Comerford managed to earn a point for his UL side from midfield while the goals for the Limerick university coming from Cathal Ruane from Clare, Oisin Flannery from Galway and Waterford’s Billy Power.

Although Comerford is only 19 years old, he is certainly used to big final days. He appeared in last year’s senior ‘A’ club championhip final for The Harps and excelled in playing both minor football and hurling for his county.

UL: Eoin Davis (Cork); Conor Flahive (Limerick), Ross Hayes (Clare), Conor O’Callaghan (Cork); Mark Nolan (Kilkenny), Bryan O’Mara (Tipperary), Rory Duff (Limerick); Ciaran Comerford (Laois), Killian McDermott (Clare); Joe Fogarty ((Tipperary), Oisin Flannery (Galway), Billy Power (Waterford); Niall Brennan (Kilkenny), Cathal Ruane (Clare), Tommy O’Connell (Cork). Subs: Tom O’Rourke (Clare) for C Ruane, Conor Nicholas (Limerick) for C Flahive, Jack Reck (Wexford) for B Power.

LIT: Louis Dee (Limerick); Paul O’Heney (Tipperary), Michael Grace (Tipperary), Colm OFlaherty (Galway); Barry Mahony (Kerry), Ciaran Whelan (Carlow), Brian Staunton (Kilkenny); Josh McCarthy (Tipperary), Ciaran Keenan (Clare); Daniel Ryan (Tipperary), Conor Donoghue (Dublin), Cathal Lynch (Clare); Ross Bonnar (Tipperary), Billy Seymour (Tipperary), Conor McCarthy (Tipperary). Subs: Adam Healy (Tipperary) for J McCarthy, Conor Dolan (Galway) for C Keenan, Shane Normoyle (Limerick) for C McCarthy.