Home Sport GAA Wins for Portlaoise, O’Dempsey’s, Courtwood and Arles-Killeen in tonight’s football action

Wins for Portlaoise, O’Dempsey’s, Courtwood and Arles-Killeen in tonight’s football action

Follow our live blog here

It was a very busy evening on the football field as five games took place in the top two Divisions in Laois.

Portlaoise, O’Dempsey’s, Courtwood and Arles-Killeen emerged victorious while one game had to be abandoned.

Check out reports on all of the games below:


Portlaoise 1-9 Portarlington 1-4

Portlaoise welcomed back most of the county contingent – including a midfield appearance for Laois goalkeeper Graham Brody – in Rathleague this even as they recorded their fourth straight win to continue their unbeaten start to ACFL Division 1A.

Playing with the aid of a strong breeze, the home side raced into a considerable early lead of 1-6 to 0-1 by the 21st minute, their goal coming from Benny Carroll.

Port’s cause wasn’t helped by two missed penalties in that opening half though they recovered with a Stephen O’Neill goal and only trailed 1-6 to 1-2 at the break.

Port got the deficit back to three points with ten minutes remaining but Portlaoise had enough in the tank and hit a couple of late scores to run out five-point winners in the end.

SCORERS – Portlaoise: Benny Carroll 1-2, Ronan McEvoy 0-2, Paul Cahillane (free), Ricky Maher, Conor Boyle, David Holland and Jason Maher 0-1 each. Portarlington Steven O’Neill 1-0, Colm Murphy 0-3 (0-2 frees), Jake Foster 0-1.

PORTLAOISE: Michael Nolan; Michael Dowling, David Seale, Brian ‘Beano’ McCormack; Paddy Downey, Kieran Lillis, David Holland; Graham Brody, Conor Boyle; Ronan McEvoy, Damon Larkin, Benny Carroll; Jason Maher, Paul Cahillane, Ricky Maher.

PORTARLINGTON: Scott Osbourne; Dean Foster, Cathal Ryan, Alex Mohan; Cathal Bennett,  Jason Moore, Graham Weldon; Keith Bracken, Paddy O’Sullivan; Steven O’Neill, Colm Murphy, Jonathan Fulham; Adam Ryan; Ronan Coffey, Daragh Galvin. Sub: Jake Foster for Ryan

O’Dempsey’s 3-13 O’Dempsey’s 2-11

Matthew Finlay helped himself to six points and Shane Nerney, Mark Barry and Barry Kelly got a goal each as O’Dempsey’s picked up their second ACFL Division 1A win and consigned Arles-Kilcruise to a fourth straight defeat.

The sides were level 1-6 apiece at half time but goals in quick succession from Barry and Nerney swung the tie in O’Dempsey’s favour.

Chris Conway pulled one back for Arles but O’Dempsey’s did enough to see it out from there.

O’DEMPSEY’S: Podge Bannon; Cormac O’Hora, Peter O’Leary, Keith Kavanagh; Tommy Kehoe, Robbie Kehoe, Tom Kelly; Shane Nerney, Barry Kelly; Brian Nugent, Johnny Kelly, Mark Barry; Mathew Finlay, Dan McCormack, Barry Howlin

ARLES-KILCRUISE: Ciaran Lawlor; Anthony McElroy, Stephen Miller, PJ Lawlor; JP Conway, Colm Munnelly, Cialann Mulhall; Kevin Meaney, Fran Egan; Dylan Walters, Brendan Conway, David Conway; Liam Whelan. Ross Munnelly, Chris Conway.

St Joseph’s v Graiguecullen 

St Joseph’s and Graiguecullen will have to meet again after tonight’s game between the pair was abandoned at half time.

The game had to be stopped after referee Clifford Ward suffered a calf injury and the Portarlington whistler was unable to continue.

Graiguecullen led by 0-5 to 0-2 at the time with Aaron Forbes, Jamie Parr and Danny Bolger among the scorers.

James Kelly and Enda Butler had pointed for Joseph’s in the opening half hour but this game will have to be refixed.


Courtwood 1-9 Stradbally 0-6 

14-man Courtwood had too much for Stradbally this evening as they ran out six point winners.

They had to play the last quarter of the game with 14 men after Paddy Wilson was dismissed but they had done enough by that stage to see out the win.

Danny Luttrell kicked four points for the home side in the first half who also benefited from a fortuitous goal after a shot from long range ended up in the Stradbally net.

Podge Fitzpatrick and Tom Shiel scored for Stradbally in the first half but two points was all they could muster.

Alan Kinsella added another point to Courtwood’s total before the break to make it 1-5 to 0-2 at half time.

Stradbally were more competitive in the second half as Colm Kelly, Tom Shiel and Jack Deegan pointed early in the second half.

Luke Doyle and Cian Doyle replied for Courtwood but they were then dealt a blow when Paddy Wilson was sent off.

However, they grabbed the next two points via Kinsella and Cian Doyle to regain their composure and move ahead again.

Liam Knowles got a late point for Stradbally but

SCORERS – COURTWOOD: Danny Luttrell 1-4, Luke Doyle 0-1, Cian Doyle 0-2, Alan Kinsella 0-2 STRADBALLY: Tom Shiel 0-2, Colm Kelly 0-1, Podge Fitzpatrick 0-1, Jack Deegan 0-1, Liam Knowles 0-1

COURTWOOD: Matthew Byron, Barry Donnolly, Mark O’Halloran, Andrew Flynn; Sean O’Flynn, Robert Flynn, Seth Burns-Mooney; Paddy Wilson, Conor Hogan; Danny Luttrell, Alan Kinsella, Cian Doyle; Michael Doyle, Luke Doyle, Andrew Mulhare.

STRADBALLY: Jack Larkin; Colm Clancy, Eamon Conlon, Liam Clancy; John Clancy, Liam Knowles, Podge Fitzpatrick; Jack Deegan, Eoin Buggie; Kilian Mcgannon, Colm Kelly, Wayne Comerford; Jack Langton, Tom Shiel, Andrew Houlihan. Subs: Podge Langton for Houlihan

Referee: Joe Brennan (Crettyard)

Killeshin 0-12 Arles-Killeen 1-10 

Arles-Killeen joined Ballylinan at the top of Division 1B following a one point win over Killeshin this evening.

In a game of tight margins, Sean O’Shea’s goal proved the difference in the end for the away side who collected their third win of the campaign.

Arles-Killeen are off next weekend before hosting league leaders Ballylinan in their next game.

Meanwhile, Killeshin host third-placed Courtwood in their next game where they will be hoping to claim a win that would take them out of the relegation places.

SEE ALSO – Massive fire on M7 motorway outside Portlaoise