Home Sport GAA O’Dempsey’s win again to continue solid league form

O’Dempsey’s win again to continue solid league form

O’Dempsey’s 2-16 The Heath 2-10
Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 1A

Reigning league champions O’Dempsey’s are up to second place in ACFL Division 1A thanks to a six-point win over The Heath this evening.

The Killenard men have won the last two league titles and appeared the county final last year for the first time in 35 years.

And they’ve made a good start to this campaign too, their third win in four games moving them second behind Portlaoise – the only side they’ve lost so far.

O’Dempsey’s, now back under the management of club legend Eddie Kelly, got off to a dream start and raced into a 1-4 to 0-0 lead early on, the goal coming from Mark Barry after a fine move.

The Heath found their rhythm, however, and goals from Andrew and Ciaran Booth got them back into contention.

At half time O’Dempsey’s led 1-8 to 2-3. Jimmy Nerney and Chris Bergin were to the fore early in the second half as The Heath took the lead for the first time but O’Dempsey’s settled and a goal from Shane Nerney swung the game decisively in their favour and they had six points to spare in the end.

O’Dempsey’s play St Joseph’s next week while The Heath are away to Portarlington.

SCORERS – O’Dempsey’s: Mark Barry 1-4 (0-3 frees), Shane Nerney 1-1, Brian Nugent 0-3 (one free), Michael Finlay 0-3 each, Eoin Finlay 0-2, Matthew Finlay 0-2 (both frees), Tommy Kehoe 0-1. The Heath: Andrew Booth 1-2, Chris Bergin 0-4 (two frees), Ciaran Booth 1-0, Shane Forde and Jimmy Nerney 0-2 each

O’DEMPSEY’S: Eugene Nolan; Cormac O’Hora, Peter O’Leary, Tommy Kehoe; Keith Kavanagh, Robbie Kehoe, Bryan Meredith; Shane Nerney, Barry Howlin; Mark Barry, Conor Meredith, Brian Nugent; Michael Finlay, Eoin Finlay, Matthew Finlay. Subs: Johnny Kelly, Barry Kelly

THE HEATH: Eoin Delaney; Alan Whelan, Denis Booth, Neil Keane; Dylan Kavanagh, Mark Dowling, Conor Booth; Ciaran Booth, James Nerney; Mark Dunne, Brian Ging, James Phelan; Robbie Ging, Chris Bergin, Shane Forde. Subs: Andrew Booth, PJ Daly, Leon Holland, Conor Fitzpatrick

SEE ALSO – Picky points the way as Clough-Ballacolla continue winning start to hurling league