Home Sport GAA Your guide to the Laois minor footballers Leinster championship opener v Carlow

Your guide to the Laois minor footballers Leinster championship opener v Carlow

Laois minor footballers

The Laois minor footballers take on Carlow in Round 1 of the Leinster championship this evening.

Here we guide you through what you need to know:

When, where, what time?

The game throws in at 7.30pm in IT Carlow, Carlow.

Team news

Laois minor football boss Donncha Phelan named his starting team to face Carlow yesterday.

The starting team includes seven players who were involved with the team last year which reached the minor semi final where they lost to eventual champions Meath.

Captain Sean Greene, Jamie Kelly, Eamonn Delaney, Conor Goode, Paul O’Flynn, Ciaran Burke and Brian Whelan were all on the panel last year and saw game time.

LAOIS: Michael O’Connell (Portlaoise); Nathan Little (Courtwood), Sean Greene (Emo), Eddie Critchley (Portlaoise), Jamie Kelly (St Joseph’s), Eamonn Delaney (Stradbally), Mark Kehoe (Spink); Conor Goode (Stradbally), Ben Brennan (Portlaoise); Rioghan Murphy (Portarlington), Colin Dunne (Arles-Killeen), Paul O’Flynn (Courtwood); Oisin Hooney (St Joseph’s), Ciaran Burke (Crettyard), Brian Whelan (Ballyroan-Abbey)

The Carlow team that has been named featured a few faces who will be familiar to Laois fans.

Centre back Shane Buggy and centre forward Ben Crotty were both on the Knockbeg U-16 team that reached the All-Ireland final this year.

CARLOW: Cian Kavanagh; Sean Moran, Billy Lawlor, Darragh McKiernan; Patrick McDonnell, Shane Buggy, Mark Behan; Dan Brennan, Jack McCullagh; Fiachra Fitzpatrick, Ben Crotty, Paddy Regan; Dylan Doyle, Darragh Nolan, Anthony Keating

What have Laois been like at this grade in recent seasons? 

Last year was the first time that the minor grade introduced a new age limit of U-17 instead of U-18.

The format of the competition also changed in Leinster with two groups introduced and Laois were placed alongside Longford, Wexford, Carlow and Kildare.

Laois got off to a flying start with a 1-12 to 0-11 win over Longford in Round 1, before defeating Wexford by 0-11 to 2-3 in Round 2.

They needed a last gasp Sean Michael Corcoran free to grab a crucial draw with tonight’s opponents Carlow in Round 3 and although they were well beaten by Kildare in their final group game, Laois still reached the semi finals as they finished second in the group.

But this would be the end of the road as Meath ran out 25 point winners in that game.

What have Carlow been like at minor level?

Carlow and Kilkenny are the only two counties in Leinster that have not won a minor championship.

Carlow have only reached the final once and that was back in 2007 when a Conor Meredith hat-trick saw Laois defeat them.

Last year, Carlow lost to Kildare, drew with Laois and then defeated Longford. If they had beaten Wexford in the final round, they could have gotten out of the group ahead of Laois but they lost by a point.

What other games are on tonight?

In Group 1 which is Laois’s group, Longford host Westmeath at 7pm.

The full fixtures are as follows:

Group 1
Carlow v Laois Carlow IT 7.30pm
Longford v Westmeath Glennon Bro. Pearse Park 7pm

Group 2
Wexford v Offaly Bellefield, Enniscorthy 7pm
Dublin v Meath Parnell Park 7.30pm

Group 3
Kilkenny v Louth Nowlan Park 7pm
Kildare v Wicklow St Conleths Newbridge 7pm

What are the odds? 

There doesn’t seem to be any odds available from any of the bookmakers for this game.

SEE ALSO – Laois minor footballers announce panel, captain and vice-captain