Home Sport GAA Laois minor hurlers confirm panel, captain and vice-captain

Laois minor hurlers confirm panel, captain and vice-captain

The Laois minor hurlers begin their 2019 championship campaign this weekend at home to Westmeath and manager Enda Lyons has confirmed his panel as well as announcing his captain and vice-captain for the coming year.

A total of 35 players have been announced on the panel for the season, after extensive trials and challenge matches which took place over the last number of months.

In total, there 16 clubs represented on the panel for the coming year.

Captaining the Laois side is Castletown man Tadhg Cuddy, while vice-captain for the panel is Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe man Danny Brennan.

Both players started on the team last season so their experience will undoubtedly prove crucial.

Tadhg was of the youngest members of the panel last year but the young Castletown man has experience beyond his years on the Laois scene. Danny Brennan lined out at on the full-back line and is very strong physically.

Minor champions Clough-Ballacolla-Mountrath provide eight players to the panel in total.

Four of those are from Clough-Ballacolla, including man of the match in the decider Cillian Dunne, while three come from Trumera and another one from Mountrath.

Rathdowney-Errill have the most from any single club with four players making the squad.

While defeated minor finalists The Harps have three players on the panel.

Nine of the panel were part of the set up last year so manager Enda Lyons will be hoping they can bring their experience to the fold.

Laois play their first Leinster championship game against Westmeath in O’Moore Park this Saturday April 27, at 4pm.


Dylan Carroll – Rathdowney-Errill
Jack Foyle – Rathdowney-Errill
Paddy Hassett – Rathdowney-Errill
Padraic Rafter – Rathdowney-Errill
Padraig Brennan – Clough-Ballacolla
Cillian Dunne – Clough-Ballacolla
Darragh Hogan – Clough-Ballacolla
Kevin Mulhall – Clough-Ballacolla
Ned Fitzpatrick – Abbeyleix
Fionan Mahony – Abbeyleix
Lawson Obular – Abbeyleix
David Sheeran – Abbeyleix
James Duggan – The Harps
Rhian Edwards – The Harps
Mikey Monaghan – The Harps
Tomas Keyes – Camross
Dan Delaney – Camross
Dan Moore – Camross
Brian Bredin – Trumera
Finnian Cuddy – Trumera
Adam Kirwan – Trumera
Niall Coss – Borris-Kilcotton
Noah Quinlan – Borris-Kilcotton
Philip Tynan – Borris-Kilcotton
Cian Conroy – Clonaslee St Manman’s
DJ Callaghan – Clonaslee St Manman’s
Mick O’Brien – Mountrath
Cian O’Shaughnessy – Ballinakill
Cathal O’Shaughnessy – Ballinakill
Danny Brennan – Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe vice-captain
Tadhg Cuddy – Castletown captain
David Dooley – Rosenallis
Darragh Lyons – Ballyfin
Eoin Naughton – Portlaoise
Ian Shanahan – Slieve Margy

SEE ALSO – Portlaoise world champion Doheny all set for super bantamweight unification bout