Home Sport GAA Changes for Laois minor footballers ahead of Leinster defining Longford clash

Changes for Laois minor footballers ahead of Leinster defining Longford clash

Simon Fingleton - Photo Paul Dargan

The Laois minor footballers will go in search of a Leinster championship semi final place when they travel to Pearse Park in Longford at 7pm on Saturday May 18.

Donncha Phelan’s men secured a draw with Carlow in Round 1 thanks to a last gasp Brian Whelan free and then produced further heroics two weeks ago against Westmeath.

Trailing by eight points at the start of the second half, goals from Oisin Hooney, PJ Ward and Brian Whelan saw them turns things around and withstand nine minutes of injury time to win by a point.

Westmeath defeated Longford by 2-8 to 0-8 in Round 1 and they have since beaten Carlow 4-12 to 0-8 to secure a place in the knock-out stages of the competition.

If Laois can avoid defeat on Saturday, they will finish top of the group and seal a semi final place but if they lose, they are out.

Ahead of the game, Laois have made three changes to the team that started against Westmeath – as well as a number of positional switches.

There are two changes in the full back line with Courtwood’s Nathan Little replacing Killeshin’s Orrie Doran while Ballyroan-Abbey’s Shaun Fitzpatrick, who made a huge impact as a half time substitute against Westmeath, is in for St Joseph’s Jamie Kelly.

The remaining change sees the injured Kevin Swayne replaced by Emo’s Paddy Hosey who, like Fitzpatrick, is in for his first start.

This change sees Hosey move to corner forward with Stradbally’s Conor Goode coming to midfield. The final change is a positional one as Brian Whelan is now at centre forward with Rioghan Murphy

LAOIS: Michael O’Connell (Portlaoise); Nathan Little (Courtwood), Sean Greene (Emo), Shaun Fitzpatrick (Ballyroan-Abbey); Simon Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska), Eddie Critchley (Portlaoise), Mark Kehoe (Spink); Conor Goode (Stradbally), Ben Brennan (Portlaoise); PJ Ward (Portarlington), Brian Whelan (Ballyroan-Abbey), Oisin Hooney (St Joseph’s); Colin Dunne (Arles-Killeen), Rioghan Murphy (Portarlington), Paddy Hosey (Emo)

Laois face Longford in Round 3 on Saturday May 18 at 7pm.

SEE ALSO – Case made to bring a third level college to Portlaoise