Home Sport GAA Laois minor hurling team named for Leinster Round 2 clash with Westmeath

Laois minor hurling team named for Leinster Round 2 clash with Westmeath

The Laois minor hurlers have named their team to face Westmeath in Round 2 of the Leinster championship.

Manager Enda Lyons has made three changes and a number of positional switches from the side which hammered Antrim last time.

Into the side come twins Cian and Cathal O’Shaughnessy along with Rathdowney-Errill’s Dylan Carroll.

They are in in place of Brian Bredin, Padraig Rafter and Dan Delaney with a number of positional changes.

Noah Quinlan reverts to the half back line with captain Tadhg Cuddy going to wing forward and his midfield place being taken by the aforementioned Carroll.

Cathal O’Shaugnessy forms part of an all new half forward line alongside Rosenallis’ Daviud Dooley and Cuddy.

While the ever-present Adam Kirwan is joined in the full forward line by James Duggan of The Harps and Ballinakill’s Cian O’Shaughnessy.

LAOIS: Darragh Lyons (Ballyfin); Lawson Obular (St Lazerian’s Abbeyleix), Danny Brennan (Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe), Ian Shanahan (Ballinakill); Cian Conroy (Clonaslee St Manman’s), Fionan Mahony (St Lazerian’s Abbeyleix), Noah Quinlan (Borris-Kilcotton); Tomas Keyes (Camross), Dylan Carroll (Rathdowney-Errill); Cathal O’Shaughnessy (Ballinakill), David Dooley (Rosenallis), Tadhg Cuddy (Castletown); Adam Kirwan (Mountrath), James Duggan (The Harps), Cian O’Shaughnessy (Ballinakill).

Laois already defeated Westmeath in Tier 2 and if they can repeat the trick on Friday night at 7.30pm in O’Moore Park, they will reach the quarter finals.

Here they will face either Wexford or Offaly.

Previous articleThe six Laois local election hopefuls who are no-poster candidates
Next articleDeaths in Laois – Friday, May 23, 2019
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.