Home News Community In Pictures: Mountrath CS celebrate a terrific year at their annual awards...

In Pictures: Mountrath CS celebrate a terrific year at their annual awards day

Wednesday, May 15 saw the Annual Awards Day in MCS celebrated in style.
Almost 800 students gathered in the school hall, along with school staff and invited guests, to celebrate the academic, sporting and extracurricular achievements of the students of the school.
John Sugrue, Laois manager and chartered physiotherapist in Portlaoise, was invited as the Special Guest speaker on the day.
He spoke passionately on the day to the students and staff about community activism and the link between effort and reward.
The major awards on the day went sixth year students as they prepare to finish their time in Mountrath CS.
Conor O’Farrell scooped the 6th Year Academic Student of the Year, while Emma Weston and Kate Hourigan shared the accolade of the Sr Mary Sheedy Cup for academic excellence and outstanding contribution to school life.
Daryl Behan picked up the 6th Year LCA Student of the Year.
On the sporting front; Seán O’Flynn was awarded Athlete of the Year, while Kirsten Keenan was recognised for her contribution to sport with the Orla Hickey Cup.
Jack Cuddy was presented with the title of Wellbeing Ambassador for 2019.
The Awards Day marked the beginning of the end of another school year in Mountrath – with the TY and 6th Year Graduation nights still to come.
Thanks to Ms Nolan for sending in these great photos.
Second year basketball team
Sixth year Student of the Year subject award winners
Emma Weston and Kate Hourigan – winners of the Sr Mary Sheedy Cup
Enda Parlon – Martin Moore award Hurler of the Year
Conor Farrell Sixth year Academic Student of Year
Contribution to Sporting Culture in MCS
Camogie players of the year
Daryl Behan – sixth year Student of the Year
Volleyball players of the year
Student council MCS 2018-2019
Seán O’Flynn Athlete of the Year
Ladies Footballers of the Year
Finn Culleton – 3rd year Student of the Year
Jack Cuddy – Wellbeing Ambassador MCS
Joe Dowling – Andrew Moore Award for Excellence
Kirsten Keenan – Orla Hickey award for female athlete

Previous articleKnock NS win their first Cumann na mBunscol camogie title since 1953
Next articleRaheen edge extra-time thriller to claim the Roinn 3 Camogie title
Siún Lennon joined LaoisToday in a full-time capacity after studying Journalism and New Media in the University of Limerick. She hails from Rosenallis and her interests vary from news, sports and politics.