Home Sport GAA Archer to the fore as Dublin defeat Laois to claim Leinster U-20...

Archer to the fore as Dublin defeat Laois to claim Leinster U-20 title

Laois U-20 Footballers - Photo Paul Dargan

Brought to you in association with Crettyard Stone

Laois 0-17 Dublin 4-18
EirGrid Leinster U-20 Football Championship Final

Ciarán Archer was Laois’s enemy again as he led Dublin to the Leinster U-20 Championship this evening in O’Connor Park.

He fired a hat-trick as Laois finished the game with 14 men after Colin Slevin was sent off with ten minutes to play.

Archer scored 1-10 in an U-17 semi final two years ago and he helped himself to 3-8 tonight as the Dubs ran riot in the second half.

But it was referee Brendan Cawley who drew to ire of the Laois fans consistently throughout the game as a number of decisions seemed to go disproportionally against Laois.

Dublin made an incredible start as they fired over the first four points with Ciarán Archer, Ross McGarry, Karl Lynch Bissett and Sean Lambe all raised white flags.

Diarmuid Whelan settled Laois with their first score after seven minutes and Michael Doran then rose the sizeable Laois crowd with a majestic point off the outside of his right boot in front of the stand.

Ciaran Archer replied for Dublin with a free but Laois then took over and fired the next four points to take the lead for the first time in the game.

Captain Whelan landed three as Alan Kinsella slotted another to leave Laois 0-6 to 0-5 ahead at the midpoint of the half.

However, the pendulum swung back Dublin’s way and they slotted three points in a row before, after threatening to get two goals earlier, they did get one after 22 minutes.

A short Laois kick-out went wrong and Ciarán Archer breezes through to defeat Matthew Byron from close range.

Laois needed a score to settle again and they got two through Ronan Coffey and Mark Barry as we headed for injury time.

However Archer kicked the final score as Dublin headed to the dressing room leading 1-11 to 0-8 at the break.

Laois needed to start the second half well and although Brian O’Leary edged Dublin seven ahead, Whelan wiped that out with a free.

Laois got the next two points but both of them were almost goals for Mark Barry and Alan Kinsella as their efforts just whistled over the bar.

Archer and Laois sub Jack Owens exchanged points before Laois were hit with a real sucker punch after 40 minutes.

James Doran burst forward and played the ball to Brian O’Leary but his shot was blocked only for the rebound to fall to Archer who smashed the ball in off the post.

Once again though Laois responded well to that set back as Eoin Dunne and Whelan pointed to leave it 2-14 to 0-14 with a quarter to go.

But just when it looked like Laois were getting back in the game, Dublin hit them for a third goal when wing back Kieran Kennedy raced through to score.

The game petered out after that as Laois had Colin Slevin sent off while Archer completed his hat-trick from the penalty spot.

SCORERS – LAOIS: Diarmuid Whelan 0-8 (six frees), Michael Doran 0-1, Alan Kinsella 0-2, Ronan Coffey 0-1, Mark Barry 0-2 (one free), Jack Owens 0-1, Eoin Dunne 0-1, Niall Dunne 0-1 DUBLIN: Ciaran Archer 3-8 (seven frees, 1-0pen), Ross McGarry 0-2 (one free), Karl Lynch Bissett 0-1, Seán Lambe 0-1, James Doran 0-3, Brian O’Leary 0-2, Niall O’Leary 0-1

LAOIS: Matthew Byron (Courtwood); Michael Dowling (Portlaoise), Seamus Lacey (Ballylinan), Alex Mohan (Portarlington); Colin Slevin (Portarlington), Sean O’Flynn (Courtwood), Dean Brophy (St Joseph’s); Robert Tyrell (Camross), Eoin Dunne (Rosenallis); Ronan Coffey (Portarlington), Michael Doran (Killeshin), Mark Barry (O’Dempseys); Alan Kinsella (Courtwood), Dan McCormack (O’Dempsey’s), Diarmuid Whelan (Ballyroan-Abbey). Subs: Jack Owens (Emo) for Doran (35), Niall Dunne (Courtwood) for McCormack (38), Jason Maher (Portlaoise) for Coffey (46), Kevin Byrne (Ballylinan) for Lacey (55), Ross Brennan (Portlaoise) for Brophy and Jack Lacey (St Joseph’s) for Mohan (58)

DUBLIN: David O’Hanlon; Darren Maher, Daire Newcombe, Eoin O’Dea; Kieran Kennedy, Neil Matthews, Seán Lambe; Peadar O Cofaigh Byrne, Donal Ryan; Niall O’Leary, Karl Lynch Bissett, James Doran; Brian O’Leary (Na Fianna), Ciarán Archer (St Maur’s), Ross McGarry (Ballyboden St Enda’s). Subs: D Lacey for Ryan (43), H Ladd for B O’Leary (55), A Lynch for Maher (55), C Kinsella for O’Dea (58), M Lavin for N O’Leary (60), S Foran for Kennedy (60).

Referee: Brendan Cawley (Kildare)

SEE ALSO – PROFILED: The Laois U-20 footballers vying for Leinster championship glory