Home Sport GAA Goals key as Park-Ratheniska/Timahoe beat Rathdowney-Errill

Goals key as Park-Ratheniska/Timahoe beat Rathdowney-Errill


Park-Ratheniska/Timahoe 2-12 Rathdowney-Errill 0-12
Laois Shopping Centre JHC Round 1

Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe followed up on their silverware in the Laois ACHL Division 3 final last week with a six-point win on Sunday morning in Errill against a dogged Rathdowney-Errill side.

Rathdowney-Errill began the scoring with an early point before Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe struck three in a row from Padraigh Kelly, Michael Brennan and Paddy Kelly before Rathdowney-Errill got one back.

Shortly after the visitors struck for the game’s opening goal, when the Kelly boys combined wonderfully for Paddy to put Padraigh through, and he made no mistake to put four between the sides.

Rathdowney-Errill responded immediately through a Liam O’Connell free, before Ruairi O’Connor opening his account for the day with a point.

Three frees from the ever dangerous Robbie Foyle left the scores at the break 1-7 to 0-7.

Ruairi O Connor and Foyle (2) struck again early in the second half before Paddy Kelly took advantage of the strong breeze to launch one from inside his own 45 metre line, which went all the way to the home sides net to put nine between the sides.

Ray Kelly hit four points on his introduction at half time and Liam O’Connell hit five in total but Park-Ratheniska/Timahoe always had enough.

Rathdowney-Errill rallied, but they could never get the goal to really put pressure on the visitors, with Ger Ramsbottom repelling a goalbound effort to solidify his side’s lead.

Brendan Fingleton worked tireless throughout in the middle of the and he and the impressive Ruairi O’Connor score late to see the game out with a 2-12 to 0-12 win.

SCORERS – Park-Ratheniska/Timahoe: Robbie Foyle and Ruairi O’Connor 0-4 each, Paddy Kelly and Padraig Kelly 1-1 each, Michael Brennan and Brendan Fingleton 0-1 each; Rathdowney-Errill: Liam O’Connell 0-5, Ray Kelly 0-4, Paddy Carroll, Eddie Brennan and Patrick Wright 0-1 each

PARK-RATHENISKA/TIMAHOE: Ger Ramsbottom; Brian Fingleton, Martin Kelly, Joe Foyle; Geoff Kennedy, Gavin Tynan, Jimmy O’Connor; James Langton, Brendan Greene; Patrick Kelly, Ciaran Lennon, Michael Brennan; Robert Foyle, Padraig Kelly, Ruairi O’Connor. Sub: Damien O’Connor for Kennedy

RATHDOWNEY-ERRILL: JP Ryan; Eoin Fitzpatrick, John Delaney, Dylan Delaney; Patrick Wright, Niall Delaney, Dan Bourke; Matt Meehan, Adam Loughman; Paddy Carroll, Liam O’Connell, Mick Bowe; Gavin Delaney, Brian Meehan, Eddie Brennan. Subs: Ray Kelly for Bowe, Shaun Meehan for D Delaney, Niall Delaney for E BrennaN

SEE ALSO – Camross prove too strong for Ballypickas in intermediate opener