Home Gaelic Football Club Football Beaten finalists last year, Mountmellick get intermediate campaign off to winning start

Beaten finalists last year, Mountmellick get intermediate campaign off to winning start

Mountmellick 0-10 Timahoe 0-8
Laois Shopping Centre IFC Round 1

Mountmellick and Timahoe would be regarded as two of the stronger sides in this year’s Laois IFC but it was Mountmellick that did just enough to get the win when they clashed this evening in Ratheniska.

There was little or nothing between the sides throughout the game but Mountmellick got two late points from Eoin George and sub Curtis Lee to record a two-point win.

The win sends Mountmellick into the winner’s section in two weeks time but Timahoe aren’t gone and will have another chance against one of the other Round 1 winners.

Brendan Quigley, who scored three points from play in total, put Timahoe into an early lead but two points from Niall Mullen, who’d finish as the game’s top scorer with 0-6 nudged Mountmellick in front.

The sides would trade scores for the remainder of the half with Mullen hitting five – a mixture of frees and from play – for Mountmellick and Eoin George adding the other.

For Timahoe, Damien O’Connor got two from play while Ruairi O’Connor and Colm Dunne got a free each. At the break, the sides were level at 0-6 each.

Timahoe missed a couple of chances early in the second half, included a disputed shot for a point from Ruairi O’Connor and a goal chance from Mark O’Connell that was well saved by Eoghan Keogh.

A Niall Mullen free in the 42nd minute put Mountmellick into the lead and although Timahoe missed another couple of chances, they drew level with nine minutes remaining when O’Connell found the range.

Colm Coss (free) and Quigley then exchanged points to keep the sides level but Mountmellick finished better and two late points from George and Curtis Lee got them over the line as things threatened to boil over.

But Mountmellick did enough to hold on.

SCORERS – Mountmellick: Niall Mullen 0-6 (four frees), Eoin George 0-2, Colm Coss (free) and Curtis Lee 0-1 each. Timahoe: Brendan Quigley 0-3, Damien O’Connor 0-2, Colm Dunne (free), Ruairi O’Connor (free) and Mark O’Connell 0-1 each

MOUNTMELLICK: Eoghan Keogh; Cian Thompson, Gearoid Hanrahan, Ben Forde; Laurence Kenny, Mark Dowling, Redmond McEvoy; Colm Coss, Stephen Lynch; Karl Donoher, Eoin George, Bernard Rochford; Jason Caffrey, Niall Mullen, Darren Fitzpatrick. Subs: John Connolly for Rochford (HT), Curtis Lee for Donoher (58)

TIMAHOE: Eoin Culliton; Joe Foyle, Ciaran Lennon, James Whelehan; James O’Connor, Damien O’Connor, Conor Whelehan; Brendan Quigley, Micheal Kerr; Joe O’Connor, Colm Dunne, Michael Kennedy; Geoffrey Kennedy, Ruairi O’Connor, Mark O’Connell. Sub: Padraig Clancy for Kennedy (41), Andy Daly for Foyle (46)

SEE ALSO – Goals make the difference as O’Dempsey’s see off St Joseph’s

Previous articleGoals make the difference as O’Dempsey’s get the better of St Joseph’s
Next articleThep on form as Rathdowney-Errill claim league honours