Home Sport GAA Thep on form as Rathdowney-Errill claim league honours

Thep on form as Rathdowney-Errill claim league honours

Rathdowney-Errill 0-19 Clough-Ballacolla 0-14

Laois Shopping Centre ACHL Division 1A Final

Theo Fitzpatrick scored 11 points as Rathdowney-Errill won ACHL Division 1A title tonight in Mountrath.

In what was a keenly contested game, the winners showed a greater hunger to win by eight points.

The winners were hungrier through out.  The lead changed several times in the first half but the losers were giving away too many frees from which Thep Fitzpatrick reaped the benefits.

Damien Bergin and Brendan McEvoy were doing trojan work keeping their team in it till halftime.

The victors went in at half time with a 0-11 to 0-8 lead, a lead that never looked in danger in the 2nd half.

At back Alan Delaney played solidly for the winners as did Vinny Cleere and Kevin O’Dea.

Shane Dollard controlled midfield, Eoin Burke did a good job under breaking ball. But it was Thep Fitzpatrick who stood out from everyone with his man of the match performance.

For Cough/Ballacolla Eoin Doyle, Brendan McEvoy held it together.

Damien Bergin gave another good display and kept his team in it for most of the match.

Both sides will now turn their attention back to the intermediate championship next week with Rathdowney-Errill to meet Clonad in the losers section and Clough-Ballacolla to meet Borris-Kilcotton on the winners side of the draw.

SCORERS – Rathdowney-Errill: Thep Fitzpatrick 0-11 (nine frees), Shane Dollard 0-2, Vinnie Cleere, Kevin O’Dea, Eoin Bourke and Enda Meagher 0-1 each. Clough-Ballacolla: Damien Bergin 0-7 (six frees), Jordan Walshe 0-2, Brian Corby and Robbie Phelan 0-1 each

RATHDOWNEY-ERRILL: Damien Madden, Mark Tracey, Alan Delaney, Vinnie Cleere, David Poynton, Darryl Carroll, Kevin O’Dea, Shane Dollard, John Keane, Thep Fitzpatrick, Eoin Burke, Enda Meagher, Cillian Meagher, Shane Bowe, Jordi Kavanagh. Subs Brian Bowe for C. Meagher (48), Paddy Meagher for Keane

CLOUGH-BALLACOLLA: Cathal Dunne, Mathew Bergin, Eoin Doyle, Finbar Conway, Johnny Finnane, Brendan McEvoy, Jim Doyle, Damien Bergin, Brian Corby, Aidan Doyle, Ciarran Finnane, Chris Rafter, Jordan Walshe, Robbie Phelan,Mark Hennessy. Subs Ben Delaney for Johnny Finnane (17) Shane Hyland for Ciaran Finnane (45)