Home Gaelic Football Club Football 2018 defeated junior finalists O’Dempsey’s see off Camross in ten-goal thriller

2018 defeated junior finalists O’Dempsey’s see off Camross in ten-goal thriller

Brought to you in association with Sammy Kelly Builders

O’Dempsey’s 6-15 Camross 4-10
Laois Shopping Centre Junior Football Championship Round 1

We had ten goals in the Old Pound tonight as 2018 defeated junior finalists got off to a winning start against Camross tonight.

Martin Deegan’s charges reached the quarter finals last year but they were out of this one by half time as they trailed by 16 points.

They made a far better fist of things in the second period and scored four goals but the damage had already been done at that stage.

Camross almost made a brilliant start but O’Dempsey’s goalkeeper Shane Hogan made two brilliant saves in the opening minute of the game to keep them out.

O’Dempsey’s then went and reeled off 1-4 without reply as Stephen O’Leary, Darren Finlay and Daithi Howlin reeled off points before O’Leary struck for the game’s first goal.

Rob Tyrrell responded with Camross’s opening point – but he would be their only scorer in the first half.

Tyrell got three points but O’Dempsey’s added two more goals through Daithi Howlin and Darren Finlay to forge clear.

Mark McCormack and Eoin Finlay also got in on the point scoring action to move O’Dempsey’s 3-10 to 0-3 ahead at half time.

Camross could have been forgiven for giving up altogether at that stage but to their credit, they came out with renewed vigour in the new half as Oisin Bennett smashed home a goal.

They got further goals through Rob Tyrrell and Thomas Dunphy but O’Dempsey’s weren’t finished scoring goals either.

Daithi Howlin and sub Robbie McNeil bagged one each while Eoin Finlay converted one from the penalty spot to bring O’Dempsey’s tally to six for the evening.

Camross did get a fourth goal at the end as the unfortunate Aidan McClernon fisted the ball to his own net but it mattered not as O’Dempsey’s prevailed.

SCORERS – O’DEMPSEY’S: Stephen O’Leary 1-2, Daithi Howlin 2-2, Darren Finlay 1-2, Eoin Finley 1-3, Robbie McNeil 1-0, Mark McCormack 0-2, Jack Lennon 0-2, Aaron Fitzpatrick 0-1, Lorcan O’Sullivan 0-1 CAMROSS: Rob Tyrell 1-5, Oisin Bennett 1-1, Thomas Dunphy 1-0, Niall Bennett 0-1, Tadhg Doran 0-2, Andrew Mortimer 0-1

O’DEMPSEY’S: Shane Hogan; Eoin Fitzpatrick, Richie Whelan, Chris McCormack; Eoin Cunningham, Aidan McClernon, Fionn Holland; Liam Whelan, Tom Behan; Jack Lennon, Eoin Finlay, Daithi Howlin; Mark McCormack, Darren Finlay, Stephen O’Leary. Subs: Darragh Bannon, Pat Maher, Lorcan O’Sullivan, Robbie McNeil, Darragh Meredith

CAMROSS: Cillian Tiernan; Michael Buckley, Andrew Collier, Colin Palmer; Tadhg Drennan, Matthew Collier, Cian Delaney; Andrew Mortimer, Rob Tyrrell; Oisin Bennett, Eoin Gaughan, Odhran Phelan; Tadhg Doran, Thomas Dunphy, Niall Bennett

Referee: Alo Maher (Portarlington)

SEE ALSO – Langton leads Park-Ratheniska to winning start in junior football championship

Previous articleAll of the reports and results from the opening round of the junior football championship
Next articleCheck out the Lilly’s Bar Portlaoise summer lunch menu