Home Gaelic Football Club Football Big wins for Ballyroan-Abbey and The Heath in JFC Round 1

Big wins for Ballyroan-Abbey and The Heath in JFC Round 1

Brought to you in association with Sammy Kelly Builders

Ballyroan-Abbey and The Heath enjoyed big Round 1 wins in the Junior Football Championship this afternoon to advance to the winners section.

Here is a run down of how both teams did it.

Ballyroan-Abbey 5-22 Spink 4-6
Laois Shopping Centre Junior Football Championship Round 1

Ballyroan-Abbey ran out convincing 21 point winners over Spink in Ballyroan this afternoon.

Nine goals were scored in this one and three of these came in the first half that ended with Ballyroan-Abbey 2-11 to 1-4 ahead.

Paudie McDonald top scored for them with 1-5 while Charlie Whelan, Eoghan Whelan and Pat Loughman also scored well.

Depending on how many they lose to their senior team next week, Ballyroan may give the Junior ‘A’ a right rattle.

This was a difficult defeat for Spink who must now look to recover in the backdoor.

BALLYROAN-ABBEY: Trevor Phelan; Barry Walsh, Tom McDonald, Robert Wall; Stephen Thompson, Patrick Loughman, Colm Walsh; Cathal Doyle, Diarmuid Conway; Dylan Cuddy, Charlie Whelan, Enda McWey; Paudie McDonald, Eoghan Whelan, Adam Brennan


The Heath 9-23 Stradbally 0-1 
Laois Shopping Centre Junior Football Championship Round 1 

A bad week for Stradbally got even worse this afternoon as their second string were soundly beaten by The Heath’s second team in Bill Delaney Park.

The Heath ran out 49-point winners in one of the most one-sided games of football you are ever likely to see.

The Heath led 4-16 to no score at half time and things didn’t get any better for Stradbally in the second half.

Leon Holland, Conor Booth, Daniel Hennessy and Shane Booth all raised green flags as The Heath marched into the winners section of Round 2.

THE HEATH: Billy Hennessy; David Conroy, Conor Fitzpatrick, James Conroy; Seamus O’Connor, Kevin Bergin, Shane Booth; Donal Bigley, Seamus Mulhare; Garreth O’Brien, Jack Delaney, Conor Booth, Leon Holland, Daniel Hennessy, Cathal Whelan

STRADBALLY: Jack Larkin; Ronan Maher, Billy Murphy, Kevin Hoolihan; Jamie Devoy, Richard Carolan, Tadgh Murray; Noel Delaney, Charlie O’Brien; Dan Bowe, Sean Devoy, Sean Comerford; Jamie Kelly, John Larkin, Andrew Hoolihan

SEE ALSO – Five red cards as The Rock see off St Joseph’s in Round 1 of the IFC

Previous articleShortall’s nerves of steel grab The Harps a winning junior championship start over 13-man Port
Next articleLIVE BLOG: Follow all the action from Sunday’s SFC Round 2 double header