Home Gaelic Football Club Football Remember the Game: Portarlington’s last championship win over Portlaoise – way back...

Remember the Game: Portarlington’s last championship win over Portlaoise – way back in 2001

Brought to you in association with the Anvil Inn

Portarlington and Portlaoise will meet in the Laois SFC semi-final on Sunday afternoon in what is an obviously huge game for both clubs.

Portlaoise, the annual standard bearers, are going for a third title in a row and bidding to reach a 13th final in succession.

Portarlington, with a young team backboned by the last two U-21 championship winning sides, are seeking to reach the club’s first final in 18 years.

That 2001 season was the last time Port beat Portlaoise and the last time Portlaoise lost a semi-final.

Since then The Town have made the last four in 16 out of the 18 seasons. Of the last 15 semi-final appearances, they’ve won every single one of them and only once, in 2005 against Emo, even required a replay.

Our Remember the Game series looks back at the 2001 semi-final, a game Portarlington won by 0-8 to 0-5.

Hughie Emerson, David Sweeney, team captain John Bolton and Brendan McCann were among Port’s main men then.

Of the Portlaoise team, Michael Nolan, then still a minor, and Brian McCormack are still involved 18 years later.

Portarlington would later go on to beat Stradbally in the final after a replay.

You can check out the teams and a selection of Alf Harvey’s photos below.

PORTARLINGTON: Ivan O’Neill; Alan Bracken, Adrian Phelan, Padraig O’Dwyer; Jonathan McGowan, Damien Ryan, Ken Hoey; John Bolton (0-1), Brendan McCann; Peter Turley, David Sweeney (0-1), Colin Bennett (0-1); Paul Maher, Hugh Emerson (0-1), Kevin McCann (0-3, one free). Subs: Donal O’Connor for Turley, Graham Burke for Bracken.

PORTLAOISE: Michael Nolan; Brian Gaynor, Mark Brophy, Colm Byrne; Niall Collins, Padraig Phelan, Malachy McNulty; Enda Coleman, Tommy Conroy; Michael Fennelly (0-2), Ian Fitzgerald (0-1 ’45’), Kevin Fitzpatrick; Eoin Delaney (0-1), Brian McCormack (0-1), Fergal Fennell. Subs: Eoin Bland for Mark Brophy, Tadgh Murphy for Eoin Delaney, Brian Fitzpatrick for Michael Fennelly.

SEE ALSO – Check out more stories from 2001 here


Previous article14-man Rosenallis see off 12-man Clonaslee to claim Intermediate glory
Next articleThe old order or the new guns? Portarlington and Portlaoise do battle for final place