Home Sport GAA A Sydney GAA club to mark 50-year milestone in Portlaoise this weekend

A Sydney GAA club to mark 50-year milestone in Portlaoise this weekend

Young Ireland Gaelic Football Club, Sydney, are inviting all former members, team mates and their friends and family to celebrate 50 years as a club.

The celebration will take place in the Midlands Park Hotel in Portlaoise for an evening of stories, music and celebration this Saturday, October 5.

Tickets will include music, entertainment and a three course meal as well as a number of special guests on the night.

The huge Laois presence in the club want to provide an opportunity for old friends to get together and for each generation of Young Ireland teams to meet those that have gone before them and carried on the club traditions since.

Who are Young Ireland Gaelic Football Club?

Young Ireland GFC is one of the oldest and most successful clubs in Australia, winning championships from 1969 to present.

The club has a proud place in the hearts of all Irish emigrants based in Sydney and has provided a home away from home for people from the day it was formed.

In 1969 the Gaelic Club was the hottest Irish spot for dancing in Sydney, enabling generations of British and Irish people to start new lives in Australia.

Fifty years ago, a group of Irish immigrants got together, for friendship, fitness and for the craic, to form a GAA Club in Sydney – that Club? Young Ireland GAA Club.

The club has provided generations of Irish men and women, new arrivals to Sydney, with a family, friendship, some Championship medals and a home away from home.

The club in Sydney have already marked 50 years this year with a range of events including a tournament in the Bat and Ball Oval, where the first YI match was played 50 years ago and now, it’s time to hit Portlaoise!

Tickets can be purchased here!

Local players involved with Young Irelands over the last 20 years:


  • Aidan Coleman
  • Richie Coss
  • Tommy Mulligan
  • Pauric Phelan
  • Fergal Fennell
  • Jason Lalor
  • Niall Fitzpatrick
  • Brian Fitzpatrick
  • Caroline Fitzpatrick
  • Brian Bohane
  • Michael Fennelly
  • Tommy Fitzgerald
  • Dennis Kavanagh
  • Allan Daly
  • Grellan Delaney
  • Gillian O’Brien
  • Mark Mulligan


  • Paddy Hyland
  • Barry Caroll
  • Paul Dunphy
  • Michelle Finn


  • Margerite Sides

The Heath

  • Seamus Mulhare
  • Mick Lenihan
  • Marty Dowling
  • Joe Salmon
  • Noelle Hyland
  • Emer Tracey
  • Aine Fingleton


  • Declan Rooney
  • Mark Rooney
  • Sharon Rooney
  • Kieran Hogan 


  • Martin Forde
  • Frankie Mitchell
  • John Gormely
  • Anthony Quigley

The Rock

  • Eoin (Bull) Dooley
  • Junior Harding
  • Brian Conlon
  • Terence Conlon
  • Kieran Conroy 


  • Niall Wheeler
  • Darren Strong
  • Michael Dowling
  • James Flavin
  • Rory Moore

St. Josephs

  • Colm Kelly
  • Aaron Moore
  • John Lalor
  • John Fleming


  • Sean Kinsella 


  • Miguel Delaney


  • Bosco Ramsbottom 


  • Shona Phelan
  • Nicole Phelan
  • Paddy Lalor


  • Donal Miller


  • James Walsh


  • David Murphy
  • Paddy Murphy
  • Brian Whelan
  • Adrian Whelan
  • Paul Maher
  • Lizzie Emerson


  • Padraig Maree
  • Bryan Smith
  • Peter Smart

Walsh Island

  • James Gallagher
Declan Rooney

Donal Miller, Dec Rooney, Mick Lenihan, Martin Forde, David Kelly, Richie Coss, Jason Lalor and Paddy Lalor
Richie Coss, Tommy Mulligan, Seamus Mulhare, Mick Lenihan

SEE ALSO – Moment in Time: Some great photos from 2009 Junior Cert results day in Heywood

Previous articleDeaths in Laois – Thursday, October 3, 2019
Next articleMoment in Time: 2008 Junior Cert Results Party
Aedín graduated from University of Limerick with a degree in Journalism and New Media. She is a proud Townie with a passion for all things sports and doesn't like to speak about the 2016 blip in Portlaoise's bid to 10-in-a-row.