Home Sport GAA Laois see off Westmeath in first round of the Fr Manning Cup

Laois see off Westmeath in first round of the Fr Manning Cup

Laois U-16 Fr Manning Cup 2019

Laois 2-14 Westmeath 1-9
Fr Manning Cup Round 1

Laois U-16’s have won their opening game of the Fr Manning Cup after a super performance against Westmeath in the Laois Centre of Excellence on Saturday afternoon.

Laois opened the scoring as Colin Dunne pointed a free before Emo’s Ross Meredith pointed from play soon after.

Westmeath got off the mark after Callum Cruise teed up Derry McCarthy to split the posts. Alan Moylan tapped over a free to level the game early on. Oisin Hooney opened his account shortly after when he pointed from play.

Dunne landed another two frees before Westmeath got In for goal. McCarthy pointed before scoring a goal. Strong running from Sean Leech setting McCarthy up for a good finish.

Laois responded well and fired over three points without reply. Two frees from Dunne before Meredith split the posts for the second time in the game.

Moylan tapped over a free to end the first-half’s scoring and leave Laois ahead by a point at the break.

Senan Baker firing over the second-half’s first score after a great run from half-back. Dunne was superb from frees as he slotted over yet another placed ball.

Dylan Murtagh pointed a free with Dunne and Meredith replying with points from play. Murtagh pointed another free as Laois led by two points.

Dunne pointed yet another free with Moylan replying straight back with a free. Laois wrapped up the victory with two late goals courtesy of Hooney and substitute DJ White.

Hooney’s goal was superb as he beat two defenders before performing a dummy solo on the goalkeeper to tap into an empty net.

LAOIS: Sam Krebbs (Courtwood); Darragh Scully (Clonaslee St Manman’s), Kian Lawler (Graiguecullen), Dan Daly (The Heath); Simon Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska), Ben Reddin (Portlaoise), Padraig Rafter (Rathdowney-Errill); Dylan Murphy (Portarlington), Brian Smith (Portlaoise); PJ Ward (Portarlington), Oisin Hooney (St Joseph’s), Ross Meredith (Emo); Josh Hogan (Portlaoise), Colin Dunne (Arles-Killeen), Conor Kelly (Graiguecullen). Subs: Josh Kelly (Crettyard), Ben Dempsey (Portlaoise), DJ White (Portlaoise), Adam Burns (Portarlington), Sam Birrane (Portlaoise), Jack Tobin (Portlaoise), Conor Heffernan (Killeshin), Lee Day (Barrowhouse)

WESTMEATH: Mikey Lynam; Sean Carroll, Donal Mulhall, Daniel Seehill;Tom Kelleher, Jake Costello; Senan Baker; Darren McWade, Dylan Murtagh; Oliver McNamara, Warren Keane, Callum Cruise, Alan Maylin, Sean Leech, Derry McCarthy

Referee: Thomas Kennedy (Killeshin)

SEE ALSO – Stradbally man set to run Dublin City Marathon for very special and personal cause

Previous articleStrong second half sees Stradbally Parish Gaels secure U-15 ‘B’ Championship
Next articleSnooker extravaganza in Portlaoise to feature two legends of the game