Home Sport GAA Three goal Tullaroan end Rosenallis’s Leinster hurling journey

Three goal Tullaroan end Rosenallis’s Leinster hurling journey

Rosenallis 1-12 Tullaroan 3-18
Leinster Intermediate Club Hurling Championship Quarter Final

Rosenallis’s Leinster hurling journey is over as they were well beaten by Kilkenny champions Tullaroan in O’Moore Park this afternoon.

In miserable conditions, the Kilkenny outfit opened up an a lead with first half goals from Tommy Walsh and Martin Keoghan that gave them a cushion to hold onto for the remainder.

Multiple All-Star winner Tommy Walsh also helped himself to another goal in the second half to make the game safe near the end.

Rosenallis actually got the game’s first score through Ronan Murray but Tullaroan’s first attack resulted in a goal through Tommy Walsh.

Rosenallis rallied with points from Stephen Kelly, Jack Friel and John Lennon to leave it 1-5 to 0-4 by the midpoint of the half but they would be rocked by the concession of a second goal soon after.

Martin Keoghan struck for a goal and then followed that with a point to open up a seven point lead.

Jack Friel and Brian Fitzpatrick replied but Tullaroan ended the half with points from Shane and Peter Walsh to take a 2-9 to 0-7 lead into the break.

The sides traded points on the resumption of play before Tommy Walsh settled the game after 39 minutes with his second goal following a brilliant pass by Shane Walsh.

Rosenallis did hit back instantly with a Ronan Murray goal but they wouldn’t threaten Tullaroan who saw out the game really well from there.

SCORERS – ROSENALLIS: Ronan Murray 1-2, Stephen Kelly 0-1 (one free), Jack Friel 0-2, John Lennon 0-1, Brian Fitzpatrick 0-5 (one free), Fiachra C-Fennell 0-1 TULLAROAN: Tommy Walsh 2-2, Shane Walsh 0-7, Peter Walsh 0-3 (one free), Martin Keoghan 1-4, Padraig Walsh 0-1, Dylan Simpson 0-1

ROSENALLIS: Stephen Kelly; John Maher, Marcus Redmond, Ruaidhri C-Fennell; Conor Cosgrove, Cathal C-Fennell, Fiachra C-Fennell; John Lennon, Cillian Callally; Tom Keating, Jack Friel, Donnagh Callally; Ronan Murray, Brian Fitzpatrick, Walter Murphy. Subs: Jack Conroy for Murphy, Darragh McEvoy for Lennon, Enda McEvoy for D Callally

TULLAROAN: Paul Buggy; Diarmuid Doheny, Tommy Walsh, Stephen Maher; Jack Keoghan, Padraig Walsh, Bill Gaffney; Tomas Dunne, John Walton; Martin Walsh, Martin Keoghan, Mark Walsh; Peter Walsh, Tommy Walsh, Shane Walsh. Subs: Stephen Dowling for Dunne, Jim Moore for M Walsh, Dylan Simpson for Gaffney