Home Sport GAA REVEALED: Draw made for Leinster U-20 football championship

REVEALED: Draw made for Leinster U-20 football championship

Follow our live blog here

The draw has been made for the 2020 Leinster U-20 football championship tonight.

11 of the 12 Leinster counties are taking part this year with Kilkenny the only one not taking part.

Laois have received a bye through Round 1 and will instead face Westmeath in a quarter final.

If they overcome that, they will face a semi final against Kildare/Louth/Offaly.

Laois were first out of the drum and as they played Westmeath away last year, that quarter final clash will most likely be at home.

The U-20 will be managed next year by Courtwood man Eddie Kinsella who filled the vacancy left following the departure of Billy O’Loughlin in September.

Kinsella, who has been over Courtwood for the past three seasons and won the intermediate title with them in 2018, will be joined on the management team by former Laois player Padraig McMahon from Ballyroan-Abbey, Portlaoise’s Seamus Lalor and Tom Byrne, who was a coach alongside Billy O’Loughlin.

It is the latest move in the varied and successful GAA career of Kinsella, who has also been a hugely prominent referee and took charge of a number of high-profile games including the 2014 All Ireland final.

The Laois U-20 panel will contain a number of players from last year’s team who reached the Leinster U-20 final against Dublin this year. 

Matthew Byron (Courtwood), Michael Dowling (Portlaoise), Alex Mohan (Portarlington), Colin Slevin (Portarlington), Sean O’Flynn (Courtwood), Dean Brophy (St Joseph’s), Ronan Coffey (Portarlington), Mark Barry (O’Dempseys), Jack Owens (Emo), Niall Dunne (Courtwood) and Jack Lacey (St Joseph’s) who all played in that game are eligible again.

The U-20 competition is also being brought forward this year and will commence in February.

The minor football draw has been put back to January.

Leinster U-20 Round 1
Wicklow v Dublin
Carlow v Wexford
Louth v Offaly

Leinster U-20 Quarter Final 
Winners of Wicklow/Dublin v Longford
Winners of Carlow/Wexford v Meath
Winners of Louth/Offaly v Kildare
Laois v Westmeath

SEE ALSO – LISTEN: Leinster club ends, a new guest and new stadium name – it’s all in the latest LaoisToday Podcast