Home Sport GAA Knockbeg through to Leinster knock-outs with big win over Dublin side

Knockbeg through to Leinster knock-outs with big win over Dublin side

Knockbeg College 3-14 St Aidan’s College 1-8 (Dublin)
Top Oil Leinster Schools Senior Football Championship Group Stage 

Knockbeg College are through to the knock-out stages of the Leinster senior football championship following a 12 point win in DCU this afternoon.

The side, coached by Brian Stapleton and Liam Osborne, had a routine win over St Aidan’s College of Dublin in front of a huge crowd including a number of former pupils who came from all over to support them.

After their opening round win over Maynooth a couple of weeks ago, Knockbeg progress to the knock-out phase of the competition after Christmas.

Knockbeg’s performances are made all the more impressive by the fact that so many of this team are eligible for the grade next year.

Only four of the team are in sixth year with the backbone coming from last year’s Junior team which went all the way to the All-Ireland final only to suffer defeat.

Knockbeg were on top in this one from the start with goals from Ross Bolger and Paddy Regan setting them on their way.

In the absence of the injured Oisin Byrne, clubmate Colin Dunne was in from the start and he, along with Fionn Bergin, Bolger and Regan all added points to put them 2-6 to 0-4 ahead at half time.

St Aidan’s came back at Knockbeg in the second half with a goal but the excellent Bergin also slotted one to put the game beyond any doubt and send the Knockbeg Army home happy.

Knockbeg are now in the last 16 of the competition with Round 1 set to take place on Saturday January 29.

In this, they will be at home against the runner-up from one of the other groups and the draw will be made in the coming weeks.

SCORERS – KNOCKBEG: Fionn Bergin 1-6, Ross Bolger 1-3, Paddy Regan 1-1, Dylan Doyle 0-2, Bryan McMahon and Colin Dunne 0-1

KNCOKBEG: Craig Doyle (Graiguecullen); Jamie Kelly (St Joseph’s), Conor Donlon (Annanough), Orrie Doran (Killeshin); Eoin Fitzpatrick (Killeshin), Ben Crotty (Eire Og), David McDonald (Killeshin), Ian Shanahan (St Joseph’s), Ciaran Burke (Crettyard); Fionn Bergin (Grange, Kildare), Ross Bolger (Killeshin), Bryan McMahon (Palatine); Colin Dunne (Arles-Killeen), Paddy Regan (Tinryland), Dylan Doyle (Clonmore) Subs: Sean Dollard (Killeshin), Cillian Duff (Palatine), James Dowling (Michael Davitts), Ciaran O’Hagan (Palatine), Leeson Hughes (Killeshin), Cormac O’Brien (Tinryland), Robert Bulmer (Clonmore), Evan Galligan (Killeshin), Liam Seery (Killeshin), Robert Collins (Killeshin), Liam Curley (Killeshin), Daniel Brennan (Palatine), Dylan Doyle (Clonmore), Adam Fennelly (Tinryland), Shane Buggy (Eire Og), Oisin Byrne (Arles-Killeen), Oisin Hooney (St Joseph’s), Alex Mackey (St Laurence’s)

SEE ALSO – LISTEN: Leinster club ends, a new guest and new stadium name – it’s all in the latest LaoisToday Podcast