Home Sport GAA Heartbreak for Eire Og as Ballybodan strike late to seal second Leinster...

Heartbreak for Eire Og as Ballybodan strike late to seal second Leinster title

There was late heartbreak for Carlow champions Eire Og this afternoon as Dublin side Ballyboden St Enda’s struck very late to deny them a sixth Leinster football crown in MW Hire O’Moore Park.

Eire Og, who defeated Portlaoise in the semi final, had never lost a Leinster final in their history before today.

This was their sixth provincial appearance and their first in 21 years against a Ballyboden team who would go on to win just their second ever Leinster crown.

Eire Og played with a gale force wind in the first half but three late points from Ballyboden saw them go in level at 0-3 apiece at the break.

But Eire Og continued to battle and a Sean Gannon point gave them a 0-6 to 0-5 lead after 58 minutes.

However, 2016 All-Ireland winners Ballyboden dug deep with a late three-in-a-row of points from Warren Egan, Ryan Basquel and Michael Darragh Macauley to edge a gruelling contest.

And there was a Laois connection to this Eire Og team in the form of selector Gerry McGill.

The Donegal native spent several years playing as a goalkeeper with two Laois clubs.

In 2012, he was on the Emo team which claimed Laois intermediate championship glory against Ballyroan-Abbey.

He later transferred to Annanough where he helped them reach the 2015 Intermediate decider where they lost to Clonaslee.

McGill also spent time as a selector with the Laois senior footballers in 2014 and 2015 under Tomas Ó Flatharta.

SEE ALSO – European silver medal for Mulhare’s Ireland at Cross Country Championships