Home Sport GAA Winning start for Portlaoise CBS in South Leinster senior football championship

Winning start for Portlaoise CBS in South Leinster senior football championship

Portlaoise CBS

Portlaoise CBS 0-13 Presentation Bagnelstown 2-5 
Top Oil South Leinster ‘B’ Senior Football Championship Round 1

Portlaoise CBS turned a three point half time deficit into a two point win to get their Leinster Senior ‘B’ football campaign off to the perfect start in the LOETB Centre of Excellence this afternoon.

The CBS were up against a Presentation Bagnelstown side who, just last Friday, had defeated Knockbeg College 3-12 to 3-6 to win the Carlow Schools League final.

The Carlow side set up extremely defensively here but Portlaoise were able to break them down in the opening quarter easily enough as Conor Goode and Conor Booth pointed either side of a Paddy Hosey effort after some strong running by Darragh Carolan and Niall Carey.

Bagnelstown came into the game with a bang though as they slotted a point and then followed that with a great goal to take the lead.

Conor Goode and Darragh Carolan replied for the CBS but Bagnelstown added another 1-2 to their tally in a matter of minutes.

Conor Goode slotted his third point of the half just before the break but the CBS trailed 0-6 to 2-3 at the interval.

Bagnelstown immediately increased their lead to four points on the resumption of play but then began the CBS fightback.

Damon Larkin, who had a quiet first half by his own standards, sparkled into life and fired over two points to eat into the deficit.

Brian Brennan landed a free and then a great Paddy Hosey score squared the tie with six minutes to play.

The game was in the melting pot now but up once again stepped Larkin and he dissected the posts twice more before Darragh Carolan pushed the CBS three ahead as we entered injury time.

Bagnelstown responded with a late free and then went in search of a goal but the Portlaoise CBS defence stood firm.

Portlaoise CBS are in Group 1 of the competition and will have away fixtures against FCJ Bunclody and Colasite Bhride Carnew to come after Christmas.

The top two teams will advance to the semi finals with the top side having a home semi final to look forward to.

SCORERS – PORTLAOISE CBS: Damon Larkin 0-4, Conor Goode 0-3, Paddy Hosey and Darragh Carolan 0-2 each, Ben Brennan and Conor Booth 0-1 (free) each

PORTLAOISE CBS: Michael O’Connell (Portlaoise); Simon Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska), Niall Carey (Portlaoise), Marc Ramsbottom (Park-Ratheniska); Ben Reddin (Portlaoise), Brian Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska), Kevin Swayne (Portlaoise); Damon Larkin (Portlaoise), Conor Booth (The Heath); James Connolly (Park-Ratheniska), Darragh Carolan (Stradbally), Ben Brennan (Portlaoise), Conor Goode (Stradbally), DJ White (Portlaoise), Paddy Hosey (Emo) Subs: Liam Og Brennan (Portlaoise) for Ramsbottom, Eddie Critchley (Portlaoise) for Connolly, Brian Smith (Portlaoise) for White, Eamonn Delaney (Stradbally) for Booth

Referee: Des Cooney (St Joseph’s)

See Also: Laois Sports Hall fiasco – no application for funding was ever made

See Also: The LaoisToday Store is now open with all your Christmas goodies