Home Sport GAA Five-star Portlaoise CBS thrash Carnew for second South Leinster win

Five-star Portlaoise CBS thrash Carnew for second South Leinster win

Portlaoise CBS

Portlaoise 5-16 Carnew 0-7
Top Oil South Leinster ‘B’ Senior Football Championship Round 2

Portlaoise CBS are within touching distance of the South Leinster semi finals following a 24 point win over Carnew this afternoon.

After an impressive Round 1 win over Bagnelstown, the CBS are all but through to the knock-out phase with one game still to be played against Bunclody in two weeks time.

Paul Cahillane and Killian Fitzpatrick’s charges can assure themselves of top spot in the group which would guarantee them a home semi final too.

The CBS travelled to Wexford for today’s game and got off to a brilliant start through a Darragh Carolan score.

Brian Smith, Ben Brennan (2), Paddy Hosey and the aforementioned Carolan all pointed again before Paddy Hosey struck for the game’s first goal.

Carnew replied with a point but the CBS quickly put their foot on the gas again and a fine team move started by keeper Michael O’Connell and Niall Carey resulted in Conor Goode rattling the net.

And Portlaoise finished strongly as Eamonn Delaney and Hosey raised white flags before the latter smashed home the game’s third goal to leave it 3-8 to 0-1 at half time.

Any faint hopes Carnew had of staging a comeback evaporated instantly on the resumption as Paddy Hosey, Ben Brennan and Conor Goode all registered further points.

And the game was well and truly put to bed thanks to further goals from Carolan and substitute Conor Booth.

Carnew ended the game with seven points but Portlaoise once again finished the half strong as James Connolly, Damon Larkin and Booth put a real gloss on the final score.

SCORERS: Portlaoise CBS: Paddy Hosey 2-5, Darragh Carolan 1-2 (one free), Conor Goode and Conor Booth (one free) 1-1 each, Ben Brennan 0-3, James Connolly, Damon Larkin, Brian Smith and Eamonn Delaney 0-1 each

PORTLAOISE CBS: Michael O’Connell (Portlaoise); Simon Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska), Niall Carey (Portlaoise), Josh Mulhall (Park-Ratheniska); Kevin Swayne (Portlaoise), Eddie Critchley (Portlaoise), Brian Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska); Damon Larkin (Portlaoise), Eamonn Delaney (Stradbally); Ben Brennan (Portlaoise), Darragh Carolan (Stradbally), James Connolly (Park-Ratheniska); Conor Goode (Stradbally), Brian Smith (Portlaoise), Paddy Hosey (Emo). Subs: Will Reilly (Ballyfin) for Swayne, Conor Booth (The Heath) for Smith, Jack O’Connell (Portlaoise) for S Fingleton, Ben Dempsey (Portlaoise) for Connolly, Ben Reddin (Portlaoise) for Larkin, Jamie Keenan (Portlaoise) for Goode

SEE ALSO – Laois swimmer nominated for Young Athlete of the Year and she needs your votes