Home Sport GAA St. Leo’s College senior footballers to contest Leinster Football final this Friday

St. Leo’s College senior footballers to contest Leinster Football final this Friday

The St. Leo’s College Senior Gaelic football team will contest in the Leinster ‘B’ Football final against Mercy Ballymahon Longford on Friday January 31 at 11:30am in O’Connor Park Tullamore.

On the path to the final they beat Cross and Passion Kilcullen 3-13 to 3-5, Goey Community school 8-13 to 7-4 and Loretto Balbriggan 2-13 to 2-7

St. Leo’s have a great reputation when it comes to ladies football.

Even though St. Leo’s is situated in Carlow, the team consists of a large Laois constituency with girls representing Graiguecullen, St. Brigids and Killeshin.

The girls have been training hard since September and have had many competitive practice matches along the way most recently Laois and Carlow minors.

St Leo’s would like to thank the minor teams of Carlow and Laois who provided valuable practice matches in preparation for the final and wish them all the luck in in their championships.

The Panel is as follows:

Amy O’ Shea (Castlemitchell) (Captain), Sara Kerfah (Graiguecullen), Danielle Forbes (Graiguecullen), Aine Fahy (Benekerry/Tinryland), Georgina Donovan (Graiguecullen), Jade Nolan (Graiguecullen), Jasmin Brennan Dowling (Eire Og), Niamh Phelan (St. Brigid’s) (Vice Captain), Aine Lacey (St. Brigid’s), Aoife Gallagher (St. Brigid’s), Sara Doyle (St Brigid’s Colnmore), Caoimhe Fitzpatrick (Graiguecullen), Eibhe Lawlor (Old Leighlin), Ciara Mc Donald (Killeshin), Kelly O’ Neill (Graiguecullen), Caoimhe Dunne (St. Brigid’s), Katie Collins-Byrne (Graiguecullen), Méabh Gallagher (St. Brigid’s), Caríosa Morahan (Eire Og), Kate Wall (St. Brigid’s), Lucy Gaffney (Killeshin), Emma Phelan (St. Brigid’s), Olwyn Lawlor (Old Leighlin), Darien Hughes (killeshin), Saoirse Byrne (St. Brigid’s), Aoibhinn Kelly (Graiguecullen), Lorna Byrne (St. Brigid’s), Bronagh Nolan (Eire Og), Hannah Dunphy (Eire Og), Jasmine Kinsella (Graiguecullen), Megan Kelly (St. Brigid’s).

Management team: Natalie O’Carroll, Aisling Byrne, Martina Phelan and Caoimhe Simms.

Physio: Claire McEvoy

We wish them every success.

SEE ALSO – New Colt/Shanahoe club passed by Laois GAA resulting in championship changes