Home Sport GAA Strong second half sees Roscommon inflict defeat upon Laois Ladies

Strong second half sees Roscommon inflict defeat upon Laois Ladies

Laois 2-9 Roscommon 3-15
Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 3

The Laois Ladies are still waiting for their first league win of the season after they were beaten by Roscommon in Kiltoom this afternoon.

After last weekend’s thrilling draw against Wicklow, Donie Brennan’s charges headed to Connacht to face a side who had dished out a big beating to Sligo last week.

Mo Nerney was on fire for Laois, just as she was against Wicklow, with the Timahoe women kicking all bar one of Laois’s scores here.

Laois played with the breeze in the first half and ended it with a four point lead – although it probably should’ve been more as they kicked a number of wides and squandered two good goal chances.

Nerney landed 1-8 for Laois in that period though as they took a 1-9 to 0-8 lead at half time.

But it was all change in the second half as within seven minutes of the restart – Roscommon were level as Aimee O’Connor rose a green flag.

They took the lead a minute later and never looked back really.

Rachel Fitzmaurice struck for a second goal with 47 minutes on the clock before Mo Nerney gave Laois some hope with their only score of the second half – a goal – leaving it 2-14 to 2-9 with ten minutes to play.

But Laura Fleming added Roscommon’s third goal soon after as they ran out nine point winners.

Laois will go in search of their first win of the campaign on Sunday at home to Longford.

LAOIS: Sinead O Rourke (St Pauls); Andrea Moran (Ballyroan), Laura Nerney (Foxrock Cabinteely), Rebecca Balfe (St Pauls), Casey Conroy (Sarsfields), Anna Healy (Park-Ratheniska), Amy Potts (St Brigids), Fiona Dooley (Portlaoise), Caoimhe Simms (St Brigids), Eva Galvin (St Conleths), Mo Nerney (Timahoe), Emma Lawlor (St Pauls), Kate Whelan (Ballyroan), Erone Fitzpatrick (Park-Ratheniska), Meaghan Dunne (Sarsfields)Subs: Nadine Dempsey (St Pauls), Ciara Hughes (Sarsfields), Emily Mulhall (Ballyroan), Alice Walsh (Shanahoe), Sophie Delahunt (Park-Ratheniska), Rachel Fitzgerald (Ballyroan), Leah Loughman (Portlaoise), Rebecca Reddin (Portlaoise)

ROSCOMMON: Helena Cummins; Megan Kelly, Sinead Kelly, Rachel Brady, Niamh Feeney, Roisin Wynne, Sorcha Bruen; Sarah Fleming, Caroline Conway; Louise Brady, Jenny Higgins, Rachel Fitzmaurice; Aimee O’Connor, Rebecca Finan, Sinead Glennon

SEE ALSO – Dogged Wicklow force draw with Laois Ladies in Brennan’s first game as manager