Home News Community In Pictures: Laois Offaly Garda Youth Awards 2020

In Pictures: Laois Offaly Garda Youth Awards 2020

The Garda Youth Awards, at Divisional and National level, celebrates outstanding young people aged between 13 and 21 years and recognises the good work they are doing throughout their communities.

This is the 2nd Laois Offaly Garda Divisional Youth Awards.

Divisional and National Awards are given in the following categories:

Individual Award – Making a positive contribution to their community, making it a better place to live.

Group Award – Group of two or more, making a positive contribution to their community, making it a better place to live.

Special Achievement Award – Overcome difficult circumstances, defied all the odds and whose commitment deserves recognition.

Community Safety Award – Through a crime prevention or safety initiative/innovation, have made their community a safer place to live.

Winners of Divisional Awards will then be submitted to the national judging panel who will select 5 winners in each category. Details of the when and where the National Awards is due to take place is to be confirmed.

The list of winners:

Portlaoise District Award Winners:

Katie Dunne.

The Port Project Youth Boys.

Lucy Hood.

Brandon Gorman.

Cian MacGearailt, a Youth Work Ireland member.

Birr District Award Winners:

The Foroige Sub Youth Project Group.

Cian Long of St Brendan’s Community School.

Tullamore District Award Winners:

Transition Year Students, Ard Scoil Chiaráin, Clara, Co. Offaly.

Aaron Masterson Weir.

Rebecca Dunne of Clara, Co. Offaly.

Rivan Qadder.

Overall Special Achievement Award Winner: 

Charlotte Dempsey of Oaklands Community College, Edenderry, Co. Offaly.

Voluntary Group Awards Winner:

GirlTalk Youth Group, a young women in Youth Work Ireland from across Laois.

Overall Divisional Award Winner:

Lauren Temple, Banagher College.

Overall Group Award Winners:

Peer Action Response Group Edenderry.

Well done to all involved!

SEE ALSO – Two Laois winners at IMRO Live Music Venue of the Year Awards

Previous articleGlove of famous Catholic Saint coming to Portlaoise
Next articleHeartbreak for IT Carlow as UCC strike late to claim 40th Fitzgibbon Cup title
Megan is currently studying English and New Media at the University of Limerick. A Raheen native, she's happiest when talking sport, especially soccer but just don't mention the 2019 champions league final