Home Sport GAA No Barry or O’Flynn as Laois U-20 team named for Leinster clash...

No Barry or O’Flynn as Laois U-20 team named for Leinster clash with Westmeath

Mark Barry and Sean O'Flynn

Laois U-20 manager Eddie Kinsella has named his starting 15 for tomorrow’s Leinster quarter final against Westmeath – but it does not include senior players Mark Barry or Sean O’Flynn.

Last weekend’s Division 2 postponement of the clash between Laois and Cavan and its subsequent rescheduling to this Sunday threw up the prospect of the duo having to play two games in less than 24 hours.

However, LaoisToday understands that the Football Board of Laois GAA held meetings with both sets of management teams during the week and decided that Barry and O’Flynn should play for the seniors against Cavan instead of the U-20s.

This is a further blow to Kinsella’s charges who were already without the services of Niall Dunne (injured) and Colin Slevin (suspended) from the team that reached the Leinster U-20 final last year.

That said, the starting 15 still contains eight players who played a role in that Laois team who reached the decider in 2019 where they were defeated by Dublin.

Matthew Byron is in goals while Michael Dowling, Dean Brophy, Jack Lacey and Alex Mohan, who made his senior debut in the O’Byrne Cup this year, are all back this year.

Neil Keane and Gary Saunders are newcomers in defence while Barry Howlin comes into midfield with Damon Larkin a new face on the half forward line.

Midfielder PJ Daly, centre forward Jack Owens and captain Ronan Coffey were all on the team last year but it is a brand new full forward line.

Portarlington duo Sean Michael Corcoran and Darragh Galvin are joined here by St Joseph’s Josh Lacey – younger brother of wing back Jack.

Laois face Westmeath in the Leinster quarter final in MW Hire O’Moore Park at 2pm on Saturday.

If Laois can win this game, they will face either Offaly or Kildare in the semi final the following weekend.

LAOIS: Matthew Byron (Courtwood); Michael Dowling (Portlaoise); Alex Mohan (Portarlington), Neil Keane (The Heath); Dean Brophy (St Joseph’s), Gary Saunders (Portlaoise), Jack Lacey (St Joseph’s); PJ Daly (The Heath), Barry Howlin (O’Dempsey’s); Ronan Coffey (Portarlington), Jack Owens (Emo), Damon Larkin (Portlaoise); Sean Michael Corcoran (Portarlington), Darragh Galvin (Portarlington), Josh Lacey (St Joseph’s)

SEE ALSO – Check out all the 2020 General Election coverage on LaoisToday

Previous articlePortlaoise CBS rehearsals in full swing as they gear up for new musical
Next articleIn Pictures: Serious craic and style at the Rosenallis GAA Dinner Dance
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.