Home Sport GAA Results of first Laois GAA €130 ticket board draw

Results of first Laois GAA €130 ticket board draw

A total of 20 clubs had winners in the first monthly Laois GAA €130 county board ticket draw held in the LOETB Centre of Excellence on Friday night.

Because of restrictions on gatherings due to the Coronavirus outbreak, club delegates weren’t allowed to attend.

But the draw was streamed live on LaoisToday Facebook and by Laois GAA, with two members of An Garda Siochana acting as the independent observers.

Clough-Ballacolla’s Willie Quigley scooped the top prize of €10,000 with the club also having three other winners among the 35 winners in all.

Ken Lane from O’Dempsey’s won the €5,000 second prize while Ciaran Fennelly from Ballyfin took the third prize of €3,000.

There were also two prizes of €1,500, one €1,000, nine €500 winners and 20 €250 winners.

Mountmellick, Camross and Park-Ratheniska all had three winners each while Borris-Kilcotton, Mountrath, Emo, Trumera, St Joseph’s and Errill all had two winners apiece.

O’Dempsey’s, Ballyfin, Clonaslee, Stradbally, Timahoe, Arles-Killeen, Crettyard, Castletown, The Harps and Portarlington all had one winner each.

The draw was conducted by Laois GAA chairman Peter O’Neill and attended by county board officers Niall Handy, Martin Byrne, PJ Kelly, Tom Clear, Laurence Phelan, Alan Langton and Paul Dargan.

Garda Jason Galvin and Garda Leslie Staunton from Portlaoise Garda Station pulled the tickets from the drum and were the official independent observers of proceedings.

In total the Laois GAA clubs sold a combined 7,650 tickets – which was up 750 on last year. This give the clubs a total combined profit of €732,665.

This draw, which has been running since 2000, is a huge annual fundraiser for the clubs.

Depending on a club’s status there is a levy of tickets they have to sell with all of that money going to directly to Laois GAA.

But once they go past the levy, €115 of each ticket sold goes to the clubs.

There will be three more draws this year – on the first Friday in  April, May and June

The full list of winners is published below.