Home GAA Cumann na mBunscol Moment in Time: Cumann na mBunscol hurling memories from 2004

Moment in Time: Cumann na mBunscol hurling memories from 2004

This week we look back on the 2004 Cuman na mBunscol hurling final action.

The big winners were Camross, who claimed a double of the Division 1 camogie final and the Division 2 hurling whilerethere was also final success for Abbeyleix, Scoil Bhride Knockmay, Castletown, Derrylamogue, Ballyroan, Paddock, Errill and a first ever hurling title for Emo.

Abbeyleix won the Division 1 hurling final where Bill Duggan from the Clough-Ballacolla was the star man scoring 2-3 in their win over Rathdowney.

Duggan, who would go on to be a talented hurler and rugby player at adult level, was on a strong Abbeyleix side alongside the likes of Tomas Moore, Daniel Coffey, Joe Bergin and Daniel Shanahan who all now play senior with Abbeyleix.

Future Laois senior hurler James Ryan was in goals for Rathdowney who also had future senior county champions in the likes of Ray Bowe, Damien Madden and Ross and Darren King, who scored both of Rathdowney’s goals.

The Division 1 camogie final was a cracker of a game with Camross narrowly getting the better of Castletown. Future Laois camogie captain Sarah Anne Fitzgerals scored 1-5 for Castletown against a Camross side that included many of her clubmates and future Laois colleagues Niamh Dollard, Mairead Burke and Dawn Mortimer.

Sarah Anne was also midfield on the Castletown boys team that beat Shanahoe. Castletown had future senior club players like Gearoid Gaughan and James Mullaney involved.

Camross’s Division 2 hurling winners included the likes of Gearoid Burke and Matthew Collier who have since gone on to win multiple senior club championship medals while future Laois hurling captain Paddy Purcell scored 1-4 for Errill in their Division 5 win over Knock.

Incidentally it was Errill’s first final appearance since 1988 and their side also included furture senior club players Eoin Burke and Tadhg Dowling.

The Division 6 final was a clash between neighbours Emo and Rath with future Laois footballers Shane Murphy and Evan Costello among Emo’s star performers.

You can check out a selection of Alf Harvey’s photos and the full list of results below.

2004 Cumann na mBunscol Hurling Results

  • Division 1 Hurling – Abbeyleix 3-8 Rathdowney 2-0
  • Division 1 Camogie – Camross 3-7 Castletown 2-5
  • Division 2 Hurling – Camross 4-5 Killadooley 2-6
  • Division 2 Camogie – Scoil Bhride Knockmay 5-2 Ballinakill 1-0
  • Division 3 Hurling – Castletown 5-6 Shanahoe 1-7
  • Division 3 Camogie – Derrylamogue 6-5 Clonaslee 3-1
  • Division 4 Hurling – Ballyroan 7-7 Durrow 3-4
  • Division 4 Camogie – Paddock 5-3 Killanure 1-4
  • Division 5 Hurling – Errill 6-10 Knock 2-6
  • Division 6 Hurling – Emo 5-3 Rath 1-1

SEE ALSO – Check out more Cumann na mBunscol memories here